Android Widget: Picture Frame


Last Updated:

  1. glorify

    glorify Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    If enabled and I either change scenes or reboot my phone, seems the thumbnails don't stay cached and I have to redo them. HTC version works fine.

    Can anyone else confirm?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Thetaman

    Thetaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    61
    I have the exact same problem and was seeing if anyone had solutions to it on here yesterday. Didn't find any.

    I would use the HTC picture frame which I like the looks of better, but it always leaves a black bar at the top and bottom of the pic in the frame which looks stupid. This is why I use the Android picture frame. But it is annoying when your phone gets reset, you have to re-do them each time.

    Would love a solution to either of those two problems. :confused:
     
  3. glorify

    glorify Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply. My suspicion is that many have the problem but haven't tested it to find out. Simple two minute test to find out tho.
     
  4. Thetaman

    Thetaman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    61
    I'm curious, have you tried the HTC Photo frame? The frame is slightly different, but what I really want to know if is you get a black bar at the top and bottom of the photo within the frame?

    If it weren't for the black bars, I would use their frame.
     
  5. glorify

    glorify Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep. Don't like the black bars. That's why I want to use the Android frame.
     
  6. rgrandy

    rgrandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is because HTC has implemented a custom home screen for allowing animations for their nifty widgets. In doing this they do some odd things in the backend that makes some widgets configure incorrectly on restart and when using the profiles function. It seems the google app doesn't deal with the oddities.
     
  7. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't get any black bars in the HTC photo frame widget.

    The picture I am using was taken with the phone, phone was in a vertical position. So perhaps the issues you have are related to the how the photo was taken. It could be trying to scrunch a picture not taken by the phone, or taken in the horizontal position into the frame. Just like a movie with black bars. Hope this makes sense, I am really sick today and my cognation is weak.
     

Share This Page

Loading...