Android_Secret_Code String Revealed!Tips


Last Updated:

  1. egg_head

    egg_head Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    104
    Hell yes!
    After a few hours trying to uncover the dialing code string for the Fascinate, I finally figured it out!
    I've dug into *almost* all the AndroidManifest.xmls to compose a list of hidden menus you can gain access to.

    I shouldn't have to say it, but I will..
    I'm not responsible if you brick your phone.
    Play with these things at your own risk.
    Even if I said it's been tested by me and confirmed to work.
    It's not my fault if your phone takes a crap on you.
    Make a backup of your phone.


    I will be doing some more testing and will uncover more hidden menus, but this is what I have for now..

    Some members of another forum where having trouble using these codes and I've discovered that you need Hiddenmenu enabled. To enable Hiddenmenu, do the following:

    Go into the Dialer and enter *#83786633 then press the Home key
    Go back into the phone dialer and enter *#22745927
    Now a box will come up asking for the SPC code. Enter 000000
    Press the Hiddenmenu Enable radio button.

    Now you can use these codes.


    The dialing code string you have to use is *#<code>#

    Here are some things you can gain access to


    Audio Tuning
    *#28346#
    Several audio tuning menus.
    I've only tested the two items below:

    To silence boot and shutdown audio go to Situation/BOOTSOUND and turn the values to 0. I've tested and confirmed this works.

    To silence the volume key audio when turning the volume up/down go to Situation/VOLUMEKEY and turn the values to 0. I've tested and confirmed this works.


    Full Bat Popup
    *#3844228#
    This allows you to disable the full battery pop-up.
    I have tested this and it works successfully.


    HwCodec
    *#0002*28346#
    Audio path volume controls. Most importantly, it looks like there's a sidetone adjustment.
    I have not tested any of these items yet.


    Shutdown
    *#7594#
    This enables you to shut your phone off by long-pressing the power/lock key.
    No more pop-up confirmation.
    I have tested this and it works successfully.
    I've also discovered by doing this, it will disable the puzzle/glass unlock screen.
    Personally, having to push a button and slide the screen is redundant.
    I like the one-step process.


    Diag/Testing Mode
    *#4636*1111#
     

    Advertisement
    devst8r, Badfish9, skd02 and 13 others like this.
  2. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    Intriguing...
     
  3. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Nice egghead. I dont think I'll be using most of those especially the shutdown. I still use the power button to silence her
     
  4. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67

    Here are a few more....

    LCD TEST
    *#0*#

    View MEID
    *#06#

    Display phones current firmware & model
    *#1234#

    Nothing special...but they work
     
  5. Paul25

    Paul25 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    40
  6. egg_head

    egg_head Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    104
    Excellent.

    The codes that work on this website are:

    *#4636#
    Does not work.

    *#7780#
    Brings up the Factory Data Reset screen.

    *#7594#
    To change the END key funtion (also listed above)

    *#197328640#
    Entered into Service Mode which was a blank screen.
    I found no use for this code.
    My phone went into no service and I had to power cycle to break it actually.

    The listed WLAN, GPS, BT Test codes work.
    *#1472365# is especially useful. You enter into GPSSetup.
    From here you can click Command and then Start GPS to force a GPS lock.
    It will listed a lot of cool information.

    *#8255#
    Does not work.

    From here I stopped testing the codes to verify their functionality.
    Lots of the others where for hardware testing.

    Thanks for the link.
     
    AZgl1500 likes this.
  7. egg_head

    egg_head Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    104
    My real reason for figuring out this dialing code string was so that I could adjust the Sidetone on this device.
    It's way too aggressive in my opinion.

    Using the *#0002*28346# code string, I can check the 'Codec Tuning On/Off' box and proceed to changing values of the audio settings.

    Problem is, I don't know how to make the changes stay.

    There's also a 'Dump HW Codec Value' check box that I haven't figured out what it's used for yet.
     
    AZgl1500 likes this.
  8. egg_head

    egg_head Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    104
    Sweet. Still cool nonetheless.
     
  9. ecpolo521

    ecpolo521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nice find. I agree that the sidetone needs to be dialed down a bit so I'll be following your progress. Good luck.
     
  10. 3cutiger

    3cutiger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have a friend with the Incredible and after the Froyo he found a post where he could activate the 3g hotspot on his phone without the increased Verizon monthly fee. Shhhhhhhh! ;)
     
  11. Lynk

    Lynk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that battery full popup would be great to disable.. i woke up this morning and that pop up was up and my phone was burning hot!
     
  12. Paul25

    Paul25 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    40
    *#*#4636#*#*
    TESTING MODE also tells you what is using your battery .Hope this helps some of you .
     
  13. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    For this alone, thank you. Other than the issue Lynk mentioned, the dumb thing gets to 100% at work (sitting on my desk) and vibrates, even though it's on silent mode. Scares the crap outta me.
     
  14. jolenemae21

    jolenemae21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    I can never get these to work and I feel silly!!!!! I want to use the battery full and the power button one but cant get it to work.... I entered it exactly in on the phone dialer but nothing happens..... any suggestions?

    THANKS
     
  15. Moonfire

    Moonfire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    74
    Did you try this? I had to do it before the codes worked. Be sure that once you enter the first code, hit Home, and go back to the dialer, delete the first code - I didn't know that >.>.
     
    DaYooper, complinitor, zeiroe and 2 others like this.
  16. jolenemae21

    jolenemae21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    AH! Some how I missed that!!! Thank you :)
     
  17. ecpolo521

    ecpolo521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Has there been any updates on how to adjust the sidetone? Windy today in NYC and while making a phone call, the sound of the wind in my ear was really loud and annoying. :mad:
     
  18. Cuda52774

    Cuda52774 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Worked like a charm! I can't believe there aren't more people thanking this guy. The vibrate on full charge was annoying as hell. Especially if I was asleep. And I love the one button shut down and wake up.

    Thanks Egghead!

    Cuda
     
  19. Cuda52774

    Cuda52774 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Somebody let me know if the sidetone thing works. That's a little over my paygrade to start tweaking that sort of thing. I can do on/off of something annoying. Adjusting values...........scary. LOL

    Cuda
     
  20. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I finally decided to jump in and try this. At first it didnt take because I wasnt deleting the first string. With all the OCing and flashing and what not Ive been rebooting enough to make it worthwhile to get rid of that annoying bootsound
     
  21. markdmac

    markdmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    this is awesome! I had a little trouble enabling the hidden menus, had to do the second part twice after hitting the home screen. Then I was finally prompted for the secret code.

    I disabled sound on boot and set long press to shut down the phone.

    Can anyone tell me more about the sidetone? I don't know what that is at all.
     
  22. ecpolo521

    ecpolo521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Over on XDA, seems spaciorek has figured out how to change the voice codec from EVRC to EVRC-B. For definition, go here. Enhanced Variable Rate Codec B - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    I've tested it out and callers say I sound much better and don't sound distant anymore

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=8377198

    **772
    SPC code 000000
    The bottom of the screen will have buttons that are directional like a d-pad.

    Press down until you see:
    SVC Mode NAM1
    End of BASIC NAM
    Exit


    Press right once you will see EXIT change to MORE
    Hit enter
    Press Down once and you will see:
    HomePage VoiceSO
    EVRC

    Push right button to change to EVRC-B
    Hit Enter
    Phone will reboot.

    Hit Enter after each change to stay to EVRC-B.
     
  23. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Thanks for the confirmation and testimony:)
     
  24. ecpolo521

    ecpolo521 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    5
    Didn't realize there were 3 options to change to EVRC-B (HomePage VoiceSO, HomeOrig VoiceSO & RoamOrig VoiceSo). I changed them all. Report back with updates.
     
  25. Kabob

    Kabob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    40
    Anyone else tried? How much clearer is the voice? Will this move void the warranty and is it reversable (I'd assume it is)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...