Another 2.1 Question About The Leak And The OTAGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Greek

    Greek Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just was wondering, if Verizon does release an official 2.1 that leakers can install, will it work for all the leaks? The reason I ask is because I'm on v2 and it's just been really slow since a little after I put it on (dialer lag and missing calls because I can't answer them due to it are the biggest issues I'm having), and now I'm starting to have problems with the HTC weather widget just not updating and just being blank all the time unless I manually go in and update it.

    So I want to update to v3 in hopes that it can fix my phones slowness and the weather bug, but if upgrading to it is going to just even further lessen my chances of an official upgrade in the future (due to it being nearly identical to the OTA), I'd probably just rather wait it out a bit.

    If anyone can give me some advice on this it would be great.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    It appears that VZW is starting to send out phones with the v3 leak on it themselves. (2.1 with the 1.49 bootloader). I'd say go ahead and do it.
     
  3. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I'd say they are doing that because so many leakers have sent their phones in to get replaced and they have no way of rolling back the firmware
     
  4. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok.. so here is my question. What is more stable? the V3 leak, or the OTA that verizon provides. I can't figure out the difference between anything. I guess my question is, what would cause the least amount of problems/more stability. The leak, the OTA or rooting? And please, explain the differences BRIEFLY... not some long comparison and difference that I, not very cell phone-tech orientated, will not be able to understand
     
    rsempsey likes this.
  5. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    There is NO difference between leak V3 and the OTA other than the OTA can be rooted, and the leak can't. There are many benefits too rooting, but right now it looks like the biggest one may be the ability to run a 2.2 rom in the future, even if it's not officially released for the Eris. There are plenty more, but you can look them up in the root forum and decide for yourself.
     
  6. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Then there is the problem of finding leak V3. All the links in the stickies are broken.
     
  7. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
  8. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    My mirror of "leak v3" is still up, it's number two on Caddyman's list:

    PB00IMG.zip

    Disclaimer: ONLY install "leak v3" if you are currently running "leak v1" or "leak v2". Do not install if you are rooted. Do not install if you are on 1.5. Do not install if you received 2.1 OTA.
     
  10. dcfan99

    dcfan99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    13
    I am on 2.1 leak v3 and I find it to be very stable. I am very happy with this and will be fine if I never get the OTA. I came from 2.1v1, which I found to be very buggy. If you are stuck having problems on v2 you have nothing to lose by going to v3, since you already have the HBOOT problem and you will create nothing new by going to v3 (which has been proven to essentially be the OTA). I don't want to root because that is just too much technical stuff for me to feel comfortable with.
     
  11. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    They are supposed to replace the chipset with the 1.5 before they send them back out. I doubt Verizon is sending out leaked versions of 2.1. Or at least I hope not. :eek:
     
  12. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    there really is no difference between 2.1 v3 and OTA in terms of stability or ability ... they are really one in the same

    but if you went from 1.5 to original ota then your bootloader (not really sure exactly what that is because i am not really phone tech oriented either but i have read a few threads on this matter and basically the leakers have a higher bootload number than the non-leakers and that enables them to root because apparently that needs to be a certain number. ... but anyway the leak changed it so anyone who flashed it cant root. that is literally the only difference)

    and rooting just gives you more opportunity to customize your phone and download roms but if you truly are not a tech savvy person then if i were you i wouldnt because it is a little confusing and has the possibility to mess up your phone if you do it wrong.
     
  13. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
  14. Greek

    Greek Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I updated to v3 with no problems, but my phone still seems to run super slow at times (randomly taking 2-3 seconds per letter when typing out a text message and stuff like that), not really sure why it could be bogging down like this when I have 4 or 5 apps installed and I doubt any of them are running in the background.

    Haven't had to deal with answering a phone call yet, but hopefully that at least is going to go better now.
     
  15. Gnomesarealive

    Gnomesarealive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    You might consider doing a factory reset. I did it to my phone after I was having trouble with the v3 leak and it made everything so much quicker.
     

Share This Page

Loading...