Another generic "Should I root" thread if you are bored

Last Updated:

1. Heide264

Heide264 Active Member This Topic's Starter

GENERIC POST IN ADVANCE =P

Well, I've had my droid since just after release, and am pretty happy with it. Tried home replacements and have gotten bored with them. Thought about rooting, but felt a little overwhelmed with all the bricking and such. Also didn't seem worth it at the time.

Now that its become pretty popular, how stable are some of the ROMS out there for the droid; mainly cyanogen.

Really just looking for some ups and downs. I like to tinker with stuff a fair amount, but I like it stable. If its glitchy I revert back.

Also, I'm fairly tech friendly - actually going for EE. How over my head in water am I going? I can understand most conversations I have read concerning development, but I have no actual experience with the material.

Thanks; sorry for the generic post just looking for a place to start.

Advertisement
  2. meekrab

meekrab Well-Known Member

Given that you're going for your EE, rooting should be a piece of cake. That said, with little/no experience in the nitty gritty, just make sure you do your research and you should be alright.

Actually "bricking" the hardware is difficult to do, rarely if ever does it happen (seriously, look around the forums, hardly any mention of any bricks). But, again, just make sure you follow directions.

Now regarding the ROMS, trust me when I say that stability is remarkable, performance improvement is impressive, and there are very few if any glitches.

I don't have any personal experience with the Cyanogen release, but I can personally recommend Bugless Beast; the latest and greatest iteration from one of the more experienced droid developers (Pete) is based on an Android 2.1 release made for the droid, so it's optimized for the hardware. I've been running bugless beast versions for going on 3 months and nothing else has been so consistently stable for me.