Another Gmail vs HTC Mail vs K9 thread...Support


Last Updated:

  1. JCimp

    JCimp Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I've been using K9 for a few months now, and have been pretty happy with it, although sometimes it just won't update when I have new mail.

    Now with the Gmail app, is there a way to make the messages all pre-load, so that it doesn't take 5 seconds to load each message you click on? That is absolutely killing me. And that's really my only gripe with it.

    As far as the HTC Mail, I would probably use it, but I can't figure out a way to do multi-select of messages. If there is a way, please let me know.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jumperpin

    jumperpin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ditched the HTC Mail til they fix the horrendous memory leak in Froyo. Also, it would remove messages from Gmail server.

    Am so far happy w/ K9.
     
  3. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    K9 while it doesn't update as well as HTC and GMail . it's hands down better, especially being able to copy and paste text from emails that's a big help. Plus I think the layout is just all around better.

    Anyone used Touchdown? is it worth the money?
     
  4. DavidinGA

    DavidinGA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    K-9 is hands down the best...for now...
     
  5. jakeh0

    jakeh0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    42
    just wish that either gmail or k9 could do cut and paste like the HTC app
     
  6. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use HTC for a couple of reasons, allows me to copy and paste text from a email msg and I love the widget but i never tried k9
     
  7. crazycell

    crazycell Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Touchdown is Corp Exchange only. I use Touchdown for work and K9 for home.......both are fantastic programs. Have never had a problem with K9 loading messages. I go the the site daily and always update to whatever release they are at.
     
  8. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    I haven't tried K9 or the HTC app. But i don't have this issue you speak of. Maybe mine aren't preloading, but the load times are not noticeable at all to me.
     
  9. nkk

    nkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    565
    For me Gmail does not handle nonGmail accounts (obviously), so I never even tried it. HTC had the same memory leak on my eris, so I moved to K9. Then I got the pure message widget, so I moved to K9 for pure. A version or two behind regular K9, but the widget makes up for that.

    -Nkk
     
  10. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I have my Gmail and my work email set up with K9 and I notice that my computer gets my work emails way before my phone (2-10minutes) and Gmail on my phone will get it before K9 by a few minutes also.

    Really I don't care , just stating that it's not as fast. And I have it set to update always
     
  11. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    19
    I've never noticed a problem with K9 not updating, but I only use it for a POP3 account, not IMAP/Exchange. Don't use a task killer / Don't kill tasks.

    ***

    K9 has copy/paste, though I'm not sure how it compares to HTC's implementation. I use it in K9 all the time and it works fine.
     
  12. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    206
    I have a few AOL accounts being pulled into my main gmail acct, and it works flawlessly
     

Share This Page

Loading...