1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Another Launcher Pro question/problem


Last Updated:

  1. SCStradler

    SCStradler New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a problem with changing the icons in the Launcher Pro dock. When I change the default icons with something else, it just launches the default program rather that the one that I switched it to. E.g. if i switch the contacts icon to the sms, it still launches contacts rather than sms. I am also having a problem adding icons to the vacant spots on the doc. It lets me add the icon, but nothing launches when I tap it. I have searched all over these forums along with other android/droid forums with do success in finding a solution to this problem. I have a D1 and manually updated to Froyo FRG01B this last week. Any suggestions/links to a fix? would upgrading to Plus potentially fix the problem?

    Eric
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Try uninstalling the app, rebooting then re-install.
     
  3. PJS

    PJS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think you need to change the shortcut AND the icon. If you change the shortcut first, it will automatically change to the default icon and ask which icon you want to use, but if you just change the icon, the link behind it still points to the same app. I hope I am understanding the problem correctly - at least that is the problem I was having at first.
     
  4. RyanB

    RyanB Guest

    There should also be an option to restart LP. Try that after you get the new app and icon in place.
     
  5. najaboy

    najaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    68
    No need to. It's pretty evident that this is a case of user error. The OP is mistakenly thinking that changing the icon changes the shortcut when all he's doing is changing the graphic associated with the existing shortcut.
     
  6. SCStradler

    SCStradler New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunately you were right. It was all user error. I was running under the assumption that changing the icon would automatically change the short cut as well. After a little work, I got all the icons and shortcuts worked out. Thanks for the help, I love the app and this little problem has been frustrating me for a few days.

    Eric
     
  7. najaboy

    najaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    68
    It happens to all of us at one time or another.
     

Share This Page

Loading...