Any 100% stable ESE81 ROMs??


Last Updated:

  1. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    Yesterday we were going out for Easter Sunday, so me and the fam wanted to go to the Olive Garden about a half-hour away. So I dock my Droid in the car mount and start navigating to Olive Garden and then I start Pandora up to stream music to my car via BT. I've done this countless times stock and never had a problem. The last few times I've done this with BB 0.7 installed, Pandora would just randomly stop sporadically while navigating and yesterday it caused my phone to reboot three or four times in a row. This was extremely annoying. Luckily I knew the general area Olive Garden was so I just stopped using it.

    The whole time I was waiting for my food and eating in the restaurant, I was installing Pete's rooted ESE81 release hoping this would alleviate the issue. Well it certainly did with that specific problem since I navigated home with Pandora later that night. But now my LED notifications don't work, the desktop is slow to load when minimizing an app (literally takes like 5 secs for my icons to start showing up) that's been open for a few mins, my phone restarts randomly when SMS pop-up pops up with a new message, and I'm on the verge of un-rooting so I can finally have some stability. The reasons I like root is for OCing, WiFi tether, LED hack (so I can disable them while I use Bedside) and the themes. But with all the probs I'm having now, I'm considering going stock for stability. I can't stand having a phone that I can't rely on.

    But maybe it's just the ROM or how I applied it or something. I did a full wipe (twice) before installing the last two ROMs and I used Titanium to restore my apps/data. I've uninstalled/reinstalled the above apps that have given my probs though in an attempt to fix the crashes (no-go). So can someone PLEASE show me the way to stock-phone stability but with root so I can keep all of the cool apps that come with it?

    Thanks for any help you can provide!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    nearly impossible to prove than any rom is 100% stable. all users have different styles and usage habits that contribute to any issues or glitches that arise.
     
  3. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    Of course, but I'm hoping someone out there can tell me what they've been using and had no FC/reboots due to the ROM itself. I'm using Chevy's 1.1GHz kernel that's linked on Pete's page there too.
     
  4. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    All of the issues people have posted with ROM instability i have seen also include "i used titanium backup to restore..." and im beginning to think that Titanium causes the issues. I have never used titanium and always just reinstall my apps and what not, and have never had a random reboot or any sort of instability on Pete's BB .9, other than when i was using helix launcher (i dont get all the hype about it).
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I use titanium every time I install a new rom and I dont have problems. The problem with titanium occurs when people restore system data and not just apps and app data.
     
  6. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well with this last update to ESE81, now that I think of it, I didn't even use Titanium to restore my apps because since I had to go back to a 2.0.1 ROM (I had a nandroid backup of BB 0.7.6 I was on before going to 2.1), I already had all my apps on there from my original install. Also, I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the apps that are crashing my phone.
     
  7. slick_old

    slick_old Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    10
    The OP's story exemplifies one of the main reasons why I unrooted and went stock for the 2.1 OTA (another one of the reasons was the fact that I was a ROMaholic). Now that I'm stock, I can really appreciate how smooth a stock Droid is and I can never see myself using custiom ROMs again. I may root again for the custom themes and apps (I LOVE cachemate) but it feels SO GOOD to have a phone loaded down with tons of apps and widgets and not have to worry for a second about a FC, slowdown/lag, or a random reboot.

    Now, don't get me wrong there might be a ROM out there that will work perfectly on your phone and my advice to you would be to find that ROM and stick with it. For me, BB v0.8 was almost bugless and nearly as smooth as a stock Droid (only a few FC's per week and hardly ever a random reboot). However, when you're a ROMaholic like I was, you're BOUND to run into some bugs.
     
  8. slick_old

    slick_old Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    10
    BTW, when I was rooted I used Titanium to restore all of my apps with BB v0.8 and I didn't have any problems with that ROM at all so I don't think it's Titanium that's causing the problems. But I always wiped everything before installing a new ROM. Sure, wiping is a lot of work because you have to set everything up again but I think it increases your chances of having a stable ROM.
     
  9. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    If stability is a key concern, i would back up any apps/data you want to keep, boot into recovery and do a factory reset and then install the ROM again.

    I've had zero reboots/FCs with cyanogenmod ROMs, but I've also had great stability with Chevyno1 and Pete's ROMs when I've used them...key thing is to give them a clean platform to install on.

    You can also peruse the thread in Pete's area on alldroid to see if others are having issues with the same apps as you...if so that might mean it's a general ROM issue.
     
  10. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516

    I ran into a problem using Titanium Backup, but it was b/c of the system files it had saved in addition to the apps. Sometimes there's a corrupt, broken, or incompatible file from an older ROM that doesn't communicate w/ the newer one. I suggest going into Astro and deleting the older backups and then starting a new backup every now and again. Right now, I have everything the way I want and need it, w/ all my apps up-to-date. So before I install my next ROM, all I'll have to do is "Redo backups for newer app versions" and then I don't need to worry if I have to do a wipe.
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Bingo! The first question people ask is "Can I install it over my old ROM?" I don't ask and don't care. I won't even install the SAME ROM over another setup without doing a full wipe. Yea, it takes a few extra minutes but it eliminates any question of old remaining garbage being a problem. It also allows you to rethink the new install and generally improve your setup (I discover new settings each time I reconfigure my system). As for Titanium, restore you apps and app data with confidence (as I mentioned in a previous, for extra measure, verify your backups). Do NOT use Titanium to restore system data.

    As for the OP's question, right now I am using Fab's ESE81 Themed ROM with Chevy's 1000mhz kernel with no problems. As always, YMMV
     
  12. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    For some reason, new two Droids appear to be alike. It's really shown a need for all the diff devs out there. Some ROMs and kernels just work better for some, than others. So far, Ultimate Droid ROMs combined w/ AdamZ's kernels have worked best for me. Really, I say to try out as many ROMs as possible and see what fits you best. I would love to try an ESE81 ROM, but just b/c its a higher number, doesn't make it a better build. So I'll just stick w/ what I have until the next best thing comes available. Nothing could make me go back to stock. Don't jump the gun.
     
  13. Rota

    Rota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    68
    PhilosoRaptor likes this.
  14. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hmm.. so if I do a factory wipe in Nandroid will that take me back to 2.0.1 or just erase all my data and keep me on 2.1 (ESE81)? I guess I'll try to do a factory wipe, install and set up everything manually which is going to be a huge ass-pain with all the apps I have :mad:. I'll prolly be spending the rest of the day getting the friggin thing set up perfectly and if I my phone randomly reboots ONCE, I'm going to go stock, lol. I mean, Pete's ESE81 ROM is stock with the exception of root, so why should it behave any differently than a stock phone, right?
     
  15. slick_old

    slick_old Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's been a minute since I've been in SPrecovery but I believe it's "wipe data" and "wipe cache", so it's not necissarily a "factory wipe". Symantics, I suppose.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  16. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    I'm running NexBeast 0.9 and I can't imagine being happier. Other than the LED non-flash issue (still lights properly, but doesn't blink), it's been 100% functional and 100% stable. It's also FAST. No lag or jitter anywhere...even running live wallpapers and Helix...though I do keep home loaded in memory. NEVER exceeds 40
     
  17. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    This ROM seems nice and stable so far (in the last 10 mins, lol), but the friggin LED still won't come on with any notifications (using SMS pop-up)! Is this a know issue with ESE81 ROMs or something? I'm pretty sure the LED worked perfectly with BB 0.7 (ESE53) when I was using that.

    I've also done a factory wipe and only installed SMS popup with Pete's ESE81 ROM and it still didn't work.

    Thanks again for any help!
     
  18. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    LED lights dont work with the screen on in 2.1 Should work with the screen off though
     
    PhilosoRaptor likes this.
  19. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    Wow, you're right. Thanks a lot for that small tidbit because I would have been racking my brain and switching ROMs/wiping like a madman trying to fix that, lol. I wonder why they changed that for ESE81? Anyways, at least with this new Newtheme ROM my clock is white and legible now because with the smoked glass theme I had it was black and I couldn't read it against the smoked glass notification bar.

    Thanks!!
     
  20. Rota

    Rota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    68
    Most likely because it's kind of redundant since you'll see the notification in the pull down bar when the screen is on.

    Glad you're happy! This ROM has been on my phone the longest so far!
     
  21. FuhxTehAppelz

    FuhxTehAppelz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0

    I second this... Never used titanium, never had a random reboot ever! Been on the bugless beast since 0.7.6 from the 2.0.1 gen.
     
  22. jtbnet

    jtbnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    45
    I'm going to need to agree with the Titanium Backup Restore including system data being the cause here... I had same problem... and had restored all... then reflashed Pete's Stock ESE81 with Root without clearing Data to re-install clean system and after activation all Apps and setups were maintained and my FCs and reboot seem to have stopped!
     

Share This Page

Loading...