Any chance we go straight to Gingerbread?


Last Updated:

  1. kollarism

    kollarism Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3

    Advertisement
  2. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    40
    99% no.
     
    goodm0urning likes this.
  3. btswein

    btswein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    11
    Your second link doesn't work, but it's within the article mentioned in the first. However, that links to Samsung India, and that announcement seems to refer to the Galaxy Tab more than the phones.
     
  4. ScuroRaven

    ScuroRaven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have read several places stating that is why froyo has not been released on the Gs phones yet.
     
  5. kollarism

    kollarism Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fixed link:Twitter / Samsung Mobile India: @juranandi Gingerbeard wil ...

    It looks like the TAB is just an Ad on the page. Galaxy S, I'm pretty sure refers to the mobile phone line from Samsung, not their tablets.
     
  6. btswein

    btswein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    11
  7. ScuroRaven

    ScuroRaven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    5
    The nexus S, is a member of the galaxy s family. So, the theory is that since it has 2.3, little changes would be needed for it to work on the other galaxy S units
     
  8. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    40
    Froyo has indeed been released to many Galaxy S phones around the world. Just not yet in the US.

    Canadian Vibrants are getting Froyo right now.
     
  9. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    i bet we don't even see froyo this year
     
  10. nikolai

    nikolai Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's no way that Samsung is going to spend all that money on developer man hours building Froyo for the Captivate (not just Galaxy S) and not even release it in favor of the latest and greatest. I'm not even expecting Gingerbread for the Captivate period. The Continuum might be more fortunate than us.
     
  11. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    What? The canadians aren't getting it until the 15th, where did you hear they are getting it right now???
     
  12. Goodeye

    Goodeye Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bell Mobility started rolling it out last night

    Read Here
     
  13. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks for the link. Canadians should be happy, they haven't had their phones for as long as Americans have. Captivate users in particular since it was the first to release...:mad::mad::mad:
     
  14. pac0naut

    pac0naut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Samsung Service - Hi Sean! Froyo will be out soon for the Vibrant. As for Gingerbread, no official statement about updating US Galaxy S line to Gingerbread has been made & we aren't prepared to discuss this at this time.

    Straight from Samsung Service facebook page in the US.
     
  15. northernale1

    northernale1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    27
    well rogers shouldnt be far behind,,!!!!!!
     
  16. ulbonado

    ulbonado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    23
    There have been leaked Froyo builds for the Captivate. Ergo, Samsung is working on Froyo for the Captivate.

    There have not been leaked Gingerbread builds for the Captivate. Ergo, Samsung is either not (yet) working on Gingerbread for the Captivate, or any such work is very very early.

    Don't get your hopes up, IMHO.
     
  17. Shelbster

    Shelbster Guest

    If it is taking Samsung and AT&T this long to get froyo to the Captivate, I can't imagine gingerbread will be available to us until june or july at the earliest. That is assuming we even get gingerbread.

    I am hoping that since the nexus s is supposedly similar to the Captivate that the fine people over at xda will be able to develop roms based on the nexus s. That may be our best hope for gingerbread.
     
  18. SuperAkuma

    SuperAkuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Screw Gingerbread, I am waiting for Ice Cream.:eek:
     
  19. goodm0urning

    goodm0urning Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
  20. MassacrMan

    MassacrMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    53
  21. malibu_rapper

    malibu_rapper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
  22. viny2cool

    viny2cool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    23
    A stupid question...So I am going to India next month... I have unlocked my Captivate and gonna use some Indian carrier for a month...can I just use Kies and get the 2.2 update from India?
     
  23. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    40
    my guess is no since that 2.2 is for the international version. You might run into a host of issues.
     
  24. ardyer

    ardyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    35
    No because Kies would still recognize your phone as an i897 and not an I9000. Plus, the I9000 build doesn't work on the Captivate without tweaking. If you willing to do that, you might as well flash a ROM where its already been done.
     
  25. viny2cool

    viny2cool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    23
    ^^^ thanks peeps, i have already flashed Assonance..but was just curious...thanks...
     

Share This Page

Loading...