Any difference in Rooting method?


Last Updated:

  1. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning to all.
    My question is simple. Is there a difference in the outcome of rooting the "One click method" or thru the computer method?
    I am not computer smart at all, so I would like to root my phone, but am scared as hell to screw it up :eek:.
    I have read thru numerous posts in the root section and I see a lot of help and useful info but, am still not confident in myself.
    Can anyone explain if the outcome will be the same whichever method I use? Cause I am gonna do it just not sure if its the same.
    Thanks for all the help & replies in advance.
    Rodney
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Well if you are computer illiterate and are nervous about making a mistake, my suggestion would be either the One Click Universal Androot, which is what many of us have used here and takes less than 5 minutes, or also the One Click Z4Root, and if you want to venture a litter further, the you can use unlockers process which is also as simple as a one click but is done from the PC with your phone Mounted, but all these 3 ways are dummy proof and we are here to help you if you have issues or get stuck, always best to do this after dinner time as there are a little more peeps online if you need help

    [APP]SuperOneClick v1.5.5 (Root, Unroot, Enable Non-Market App, Get UNLOCK code)

    Z4Root

    Universal Androot




     
    rod78vw likes this.
  3. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply. I just got home and will try it in a little while. I will probably be begging for help when I do, so I will ask. By the way I have read thru the majority of these posts and you seem to be very helpful to all, so thanks again. We are not all that bad down here in S. Florida as a lot of people think.
    Rodney
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    NP, lol also once you are rooted, the first thing we will have you do is download ClockWorkMod from the market, then you will open the app and give it SU permission, then you will flash the recovery, and then we will make you make a Nandroid back up of your Rooted stock Rom for safe keeping


     
    rod78vw likes this.
  5. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I rooted last night using the Z4Root method. Then i followed your posted tutorials, as well as your reply, and downloaded the Rom Manager (Clockworkmod) allowed SU permission, and continued to flash a recovery mod. At first i kept it as the default & saved it, then I saved it again as "stock_2.1" like u did.
    Everything seems to work n look good so far. I downloaded "shootme" which is 1 of the reasons I wanted to root. I have no idea how to do the Nandroid backup or where to put it. As for which ROM, I don't have a clue as to which 1 I would like. Any suggestions?
    I read a truck load of your posts, & MahaloCat, & Andygu3. Thanks to all of you for patience and help. I know what it feels like to want to try but being afraid cause of not being sure, so I appreciate the help.
     
  6. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    You can do your back up either from the Rom manger, scroll to the bottom and is say back up current rom, or you can do the same from recovery. Those 2 guys are great to have in your corner you can't go wrong, very knowledgeable


     
    rod78vw likes this.
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Your nandroid will be saved in the clockworkmod folder on your sd card.

    Do you want a Sense UI rom or and AOSP rom? Sense UI is the sense overlay that HTC uses for their android phones. AOSP is just vanilla android os. AOSP roms will have to be customized to your liking. NO HTC widgets will work with AOSP roms.
     
    rod78vw likes this.
  8. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

    OK I did that last night and saw it on my SD card backed up as both ways that I saved it.
    I will read up on how to re apply if I need to Unroot the phone.
    Again many thanks for the help.
    Rodney
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Your welcome and enjoy


     
  10. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

    I thanked you in the write up for your informative and helpful posts.

    I did see it saved in my SD card when I checked.
    As for a ROM, I am probably gonna stay as close to phone as possible cause as previously mentioned, I am by no means good with this kind of stuff. So it will probably be the Sense UI ROM. If I can figure out how to navigate thru the ROM's, how to make them work, and how to go back and forth with them I might get brave :eek:
    Can you recommend a Sense UI ROM that I can use?
    I don't have many apps on my phone, I text, web browse, phone calls, and basic stuff is all.
    Thanks again
    Rodney
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Here is a good one minus all the Bloatware, one is odex and the other is deodexed, [ROM] NFX-Sprint.STOCK.2.32.651.2.ODEX.A2SD Updated:11/23/2010 or [ROM-DEV] HTC Sense Android 2.2.1 V8.5 Deodexed, WiFi:GPS:VVM Updated 11/20


     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    The 2 that DonB posted are great;) There are some things that still need to be ironed out with froyo/sense but if don't need a camera, the froyo/sense rom is a good one.

    I would also highly recommend Liquid Sense odex, found here [ROM][UPDATE 10/25] LiquidSense 2.1 Stable|PngOpt|ZipAlgn|Odex|No Bloat - xda-developers This rom is based off of nfinite's stock rom without all the bloatware. It was built for 2.1 speed. If you plan on overclocking, nfinite's kernels work great with the rom
     
  13. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I am reading up on these different ROM's and tryingto figure out which one is best for my needs. I do use my camera so the froyo/sense might not be a good fit right now.
    I have read several people mention overclocking, and flashing a new radio. I'm at baseband version 2.42.01.04.27, kernel version 2.6.29-ba77cfo3, software # 2.31.651.7, & PRL 60671. Does any of this need to be changed? Do I need to upgrade radio or overclock this?
    Its not easy to decide which way to go with the ROM's
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You are Sprint right?

    If you are, you can upgrade the radio. PRL is 60671.
     
  15. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I am Sprint, and my PRL is at 60671.
     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Then your good to go and you are current


     
  17. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK guys, I downloaded & flashed the [ROM] NFX-Sprint.STOCK.2.32.651.2.ODEX.A2SD Updated:11/23/2010 earlier today. I followed Andygu3's steps in a reply message that DonB posted "Lots of useful root info".
    My question is that my phone is Laggy as hell now big time. I have turned phone on & off 2 times already and have removed battery also. Any suggestions? If not I will try to go back to stock, if I figure out how to.
    Thanks
    Rodney

     
  18. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    That ROM has the latest Sprint HTC Hero maintenance update. The only thing I can think of that is causing your lag issues is that there have been problems reported with that update.

    Read this thread that I posted a few days ago: http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...sprint-htc-hero-update-problems-reported.html . I am not saying anything negative about that ROM, I am just saying that the update was baked into it before the reports started coming in about the lag issues. That could be what is going on in your situation.
     
  19. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't update the new update from Sprint/Htc that is available, I stayed away cause I was not sure if it would let me root, or not. I rooted using the Z4root, and flashed the ROM previously mentioned.
    Thanks
    Rodney
     
  20. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry I just saw that you mentioned the update was incorporated into that ROM. I just shut it down again and let it sit with battery out, see what happens. Hope it helps.
    Rodney
     
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    That could be a Kernel issue, but I am not sure as I am not on that Rom, but I am sure someone will chime in, worst case scenario you can post @ the Devs thread release and see what they say there


     
  22. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I would try Liquid's newest update with Sprint's latest release, remember this rom is built for speed http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=856099 Also flash Deca's #43 kernel to go along with the rom wsearch.net

    Nandroid
    Wipe data, Davlik cache and cache
    Flash the rom
    Flash the kernel
    Reboot phone
     
  23. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok I am gonna download this ROM and install, and give it a try, thanks.
    1) First question is how do I flash Deca's #43 kernel???? I have seen that written in other posts but not sure what or how.
    2) How do I get rid of the ROM that I have installed now from my SD card or phone. Do I just delete it from the card while plugged to computer?

    I figure once I do the steps to load this new ROM it will be the running ROM. So I will want to remove the other ROM.

    Sorry for sounding so un-informed (not to say stupid), but I am REALLY NEW to all of this, and I am scared to break my phone, or totally screw this up.

    Again thanks for all the help and walking me thru this.
    Rodney
     
  24. rod78vw

    rod78vw Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another question. Is it possible to go back to my original setup (stock 2.1) after I downloaded and installed Z4Root. If so, how do I do this, and where do I find it at?
    Will the root function work with my Stock 2.1 setup or not?
    I was just reading the info on whats been removed from Liquidsense ROM and I use some of that stuff. I know it says it can be added, but as un-technology friendly as I am and feel right now I know I am gonna screw something up.
    Rodney
     
  25. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    You can Always Flash Your Rooted Backup....Nandroid.
    That would be Rooted Stock -
    Or use NFX - He has most everything in his roms.
     

Share This Page

Loading...