Any experience with these two "tips"?General


Last Updated:

  1. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just stumbled upon these two tips on another forum, just wondering if anyone here has any experience with using them? Do they work? Are they worth using?

    Faster Call to Ring (inbound calls)

    thanks to the Hero forum for this tip:
    Ring Lag fix??

    You may want to call your cell phone to see the affect before you do this. My cell phone rings on the 2nd and a half ring from my office land line. After I did this, an inbound call rings on my cell phone at the 1st and a half ring.

    1. bring up the phone app (like your making a call)
    2. dial ##7764726 (PROGRAM)
    3. enter password 000000 (thats 6 zeros)
    4. go to Slot Cycle Index
    5. change from 2, to 1.
    6. hit Menu, then commit changes

    Now the phone will reboot.

    Make a call to your cell phone again and see if it rings faster.

    This forces your phone to checking 2 times faster than it normally checks in for calls. From roughly 5 seconds to 2.5 seconds. I did this on my 2.1 OS, so the program layout may be a tiny bit different. But the term Slot Cycle Index will be stated the same.

    EVRC-B codec (to improve call quality)

    To make the change/upgrade:
    Enter a call for: ##7764726
    Use pass code: 000000

    Now scroll down to "NAM CDMA Settings":
    Click on each below to set the EVRC-B codec
    "Preferred voice Service Option for Home Page"
    "Preferred voice service option for Home Origination"
    "Preferred voice service option for Roam Origination" (I would leave this one at EVRC)
    ---I say to leave the roaming to EVRC because EVRC is the national CMDA standard so if your in a rural area the newer EVRC-B may not work and give you call errors.

    after that, hit the Menu button, and the option "Commit Modifications" pops up. click and you have 10 seconds until the reboot. Or just click OK and the reboot happens instantly.
     

    Advertisement
    datruth585 and A User Name like this.
  2. A User Name

    A User Name Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the tips.

    FYI the "Slot Cycle Index" is found under NAM settings. I didn't see it at first, so in case others are lost, check NAM settings on the main screen, and you'll see the slot cycle index there.
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Slot cycle has been discussed here, seemed to have mixed results..
     
    rthibeault likes this.
  4. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Just to be clear, if you don't know what you're doing when you get into this section of your phone, you could really eff it up. Be careful. I did change my slot cycle awhile ago, but didn't mess with anything else.
     
    rthibeault likes this.
  5. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    6
    clearer calls huh.
     
  6. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4

    I tried it, guess time will tell.
     
  7. datruth585

    datruth585 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    from looking at evrc-b on wikipedia, it seems like a good technology. i wonder why this isn't the default setting for home page and home orig already tho?

    i upped anyway tho
     
  8. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Been thinking about this. Phone takes to long to ring so I adjusted slot cycle. Call quality is fine so didn't do that.
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    interestingly enough, i changed my slot cycle to 0 while on 1.5, now i am on 2.1 leak and went to change it tonight and it is still on 0....

    that wouldnt get reset on a update like that?
     
  10. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Strange. Mine defaulted back to 2. I had to switch it back to 1. With my improved battery life on 2.1, I thought about trying 0.
     
  11. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    The girlfriend and I both have the eris, I tried the Slot cycle down to 1, made absolutely no difference. It took about 2.5 rings when slot cycle was at 2, and just about 3 complete rings when slot cycle was at 1. Changing back now.

    No noticeable help whatsoever. If it works for you, great. Just posting my results for ya...
     
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Mine's at 0. Battery's fine and calls are almost instantaneous for me. no more than 1.5 rings.

    I'll try the second one, though. I have no clarity issues, but I just have to have everything set up just right to feel better about it. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...