Any music/video players that recognize internal storage?General

Last Updated:

1. winstonoboogie

winstonoboogie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Are there any video or music player apps that are capable of recognizing media on the internal storage? I know that the HTC players can do it, but I'm looking for something with a few more features. I've tried mixzing, Act 1, and cubed (aka RockOn), but they each can only see files on SD cards. There does not seem to be a way to tell the apps to look in the /emmc directory. I'm new to Android so maybe it's just a matter of developers updating their apps for the Incredible?

I was thinking, alternatively, is there a way to create a symbolic link with an app like Astro to make the files *appear* like they're on the SD card?

Tips are welcome. Thanks!

Advertisement
  2. mozetti

mozetti Well-Known Member

As far as I know, nothing other than the stock HTC programs can see the internal storage right now. That's why other programs (not music) have to store their settings on the SD card, too. That is supposed to be fixed in an update, but not sure which one or when it will happen.

3. rushmore

rushmore Well-Known Member

Astro can write to it, so apps can see it :)

4. Opivyattack

Opivyattack Well-Known Member

I would like to know how HTC is able to recognize this while the others are not. Clearly it is possible but the information has not been released for whatever reason. I emailed the Dev of Cubed/3/RockOn and he told me that he is aware of it and working on a fix but the API is not set up for that right now. I'm hoping that this is fixed sooner than later so that I can use his program again.

5. NYC Coyote

NYC Coyote Well-Known Member

YXFlash can read it....

But its pretty much just a file browser that can play anything (including xvid and divx)

It's 10 dollars though....otherwise you can only play 2 min of a video with it.

If you buy it let us know how it goes

6. HoochieCoo

HoochieCoo Well-Known Member