Any OTA Froyo in UK yet?


Last Updated:

  1. CeePeeBee

    CeePeeBee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Guys

    Now that some people are reporting OTA Froyo - has anyone in the UK had it yet?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Curnsie

    Curnsie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nothing here. Hopefully soon
     
  3. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    Nope, me either.

    I did the manual update from 72 - 83 earlier.
     
  4. thehitmen

    thehitmen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    No not yet...

    Is this vodaphone or Googles OTA push ?
     
  5. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    Did you buy you N1 direct from Google from their site? Or from Vodafone?
     
  6. thehitmen

    thehitmen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I purchased it from a Vodaphone Store?

    I was hoping to do a manual update, EPF30 build but i am not sure if i am far behind?
     
  7. CeePeeBee

    CeePeeBee Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine is purchased from Vodafone, but the N1 is unbranded anyway isn't it? Also I believe the OTA is a Google push not a carrier push.
     
  8. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
  9. bigfod

    bigfod Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nothing for me yet. Tried the *#*#checkin#*#* which did something, but didn't find me an OTA.

    My Nexus is direct from Google, bought 2 days after launch, so hopefully will be one of the first to get updated.
     
  10. warr3n

    warr3n New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the last update from 2.1 to 2.1-update1 it was a day or two after the first OTA updates were being reported before I received my OTA................
     
  11. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Do Vodafone have the N1 on show in store now in the UK then?
     
  12. dhevans

    dhevans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    +1 for trying the checkin thing (what does that do in English exactly?), no joy.

    Mine's a direct Google one too.

    In terms of the OTA, I purchased CoPilot (way before navigation appeared). have I got to jump the uninstallation hoops of de-registering before doing the OTA, so that CoPilot keeps working?
     
  13. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    Based on my previous experience moving an HTC Magic from 1.5 to 1.6 manually (via update.zip method) you shouldn't need to deregister CoPilot.

    The deregister method is for moving CoPilot between Android devices and can be a real mare; it certainly was for me moving from the Magic to an N1. I believe that their licensing model is based on IMEIs.

    I've been running the *#*#checkin#*#* every few hours today *sigh*

    HTH
     
  14. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    I'm an update whore, I've never seen the OTA notification on mine, as soon as I find a link to the update.zip file, I grab it and manually update. Been on all 3 Froyo builds :D
     
  15. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    I've done the same, but for some reason I'd still like to receive a OTA update from Google.

    Maybe next time...:rolleyes:
     
  16. thehitmen

    thehitmen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please post here, when you find it!
     
  17. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    Which build are you currently on?
     
  18. thehitmen

    thehitmen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    EPF30 :(

    Is it possible?
     
  19. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Not yet.
     
  20. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not currently, unless you root.
     
  21. thehitmen

    thehitmen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do i have to just wait for the OTA?
     
  22. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yup.

    Unless you want to root your phone. Best not to though really, voids your warranty.
     
  23. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    As I understand it, the only people getting an OTA update to FRF83 are those who originally got an OTA to FRF50, developers from the look of it. If you want to update manually you can go to FRF50 without rooting, then go to FRF83. I've just updated to FRF83 from FRF72 and have never rooted my phone or received any OTA updates (I'm not registered as a developer).
     
  24. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    23
    You are correct, unless you have build EPF30.

    There is no manual update from EPF30 to FRF50 unless you root.
     
  25. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    I've just noticed that FRF83 appears to be recognised by Android Market, apps that had vanished from the market (the copy protected ones) are now back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...