Any ROMS?


Last Updated:

  1. RoboticOtter

    RoboticOtter Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So im new to all this rom stuff. I just upgraded my phone to 4.0.3 and rooted it. Now im wondering if there are any good roms out there I can flash. I kinda want to try this cyanogen mod thing to see what all the fuss is about... I have the free rom manager app. Ive seen some cyanogen mod 9 roms on that but I dont really know what im doing.:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. RoboticOtter

    RoboticOtter Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went onto rom manager and looked at the roms on there. I didn't even know that it had that option. Anyways it said that cyanogenmod 9 was available for my phone so I downloaded it. But when I installed it with rom manager it won't work. I just get stuck in a boot loop every time and have to restore.
     
  3. SolidSnake117

    SolidSnake117 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    I hope you have fixed it by now.

    If not, I remember reading something about flashing, that you need to reset the caches in recoverymode after the install.
     
  4. RoboticOtter

    RoboticOtter Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I never fixed it. I had to give up cause nobody replied. I tried the dark side super wipe and cashe wipe but it didn't do anything.
     
  5. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13,646
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Hey, I moved this to the All Things Root section. Thanks for understanding. :)
     
  6. RoboticOtter

    RoboticOtter Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cool thanks
     
  7. RoboticOtter

    RoboticOtter Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So still nobody has any ideas? I still cant install CM9 rom...
     
  8. Tausif123

    Tausif123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cyanogen Mod 9 has some bugs and things that arent working. You should really try Jedi Mind Trick which is a really fast rom.
     
  9. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    This looks awesome -- will this also work on my Telus T989D?
     
  10. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Yes, all the roms in this guide will work with yours. Download Darkside Cache Wipe and Super Wipe. If you happen to get in a bootloop after flashing a rom, flash Cache Wipe in recovery and it should fix it. Also, before you flash a rom, make sure you have a nandroid backup in case you ever need to restore it in an emergency. A nandroid will save you a lot of headaches.
     
    coangr likes this.
  11. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just to be clear, the author states that they will "only" work on the American version of the phones... these will work for me too without issue? ;)
     
  12. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    coangr likes this.
  13. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
  14. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    You should be able to just download it from the play store again. I've done it many times.
     
  15. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hmm.. it doesn't give me the option to download it without buying. Same thing with other purchased apps. :(
     
  16. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,760
    Likes Received:
    3,716
    If your on the Page of paid version, go down to related apps and you'll see the lite version of tibu

    Edit: oops didn't read a cpl posts up :) are you using the same account that you bought tibu with?

    DS
     
  17. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes :/
     
  18. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,760
    Likes Received:
    3,716
    Very odd, tried clearing market data with a reboot?

    DS
     
  19. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Did you get it to work? If you're using the same login info it shouldn't be asking to pay.
     
  20. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    I didn't create a new Gmail account, so I'm not sure why it's asking for me to purchase it again.
     
  21. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    I'm not sure either. Is that the only app you purchased that is doing it? Try going to orders & settings in the play store. Does anything show as purchased under My Orders?
     
    coangr likes this.
  22. coangr

    coangr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    You guys are too good lol. And I'm pretty stupid :rolleyes: turns out I didn't purchase a pro version, it was Root Explorer that I did. Ah geeze :p I can now install previously purchased apps. Thanks again :smokingsomb:
     
    Atma likes this.
  23. Atma

    Atma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    2,900
    Glad you got it working. :)
     
  24. andruoid

    andruoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    I've tried a few different ROMs but keep coming back to the stock Telus 4.0.3 (and stay rooted). Nothing seems to be stable enough for a daily driver; main issue is wifi signal range and connectivity (which is not an issue with stock). I'm not putting down Devs, they are all amazing and I'm sure its not easy to tackle all the issues. I found that 2.3.x had more stable custom ROMs than 4.x.x so far, wonder why? I'm just pointing out my findings 8)
     
  25. andruoid

    andruoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,424
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    For fun I went back, way back, to Mr. X's Telus ROM which is exactly like stock but with no Carrier IQ and a few tweaks. It's based on Gingerbread 2.3.5. I forgot how fast this phone is and might just stick with it until the JB 4.1.x officially comes out for the SIIX.
     

Share This Page

Loading...