Any way to backup market applications in order to speed reload after flash?


Last Updated:

  1. dandaman96

    dandaman96 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm looking to flash again... right after I loaded all of the market applications that I love onto the phone.

    I apologize if this is a trivial question; I'm not yet all that familiar w/ the program management on the android. But what I would like to be able to do is create a directory (be it on the sdcard, my laptop, etc) and store the install files for all of the apps that I install on this phone after every flash. This would save a tremendous amount of time bringing the phone back up to usable status after a flash.

    And the cat's meow would be if the configurations for these apps could be backup locally as well. Similar to a ~/.name_of_application/ directory on a linux box.

    I'm poking around the file system right now, and not finding anything obvious. Would these be the files out of /system/bin? Any thoughts ?

    As a side note... as I work in the adb shell, I'm finding out just how addicted I am to my aliases in the bash shell of my linux box. I swear I type every command twice on this thing...
     

    Advertisement
  2. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Astro file manager has a built in backup program. That is what I used when I went from 1.5 to root 2.1. Worked like a charm. You will just have to re-download Astro after flashing and then restore all your backed up apps. As for the configs, it doesnt but hey, its fun redoing all the settings on those apps, right? :p

    Note: Wasnt able to backup all the apps. Cant rem teh reason it gave, but 99% of them I was able to.
     
  3. korben dallas

    korben dallas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yepp astro is what I use
     
  4. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Download AppBrain from the market. Its pretty damn slick.
     
  5. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    If I rem correctly, Caddy said it didnt work right with 2.1 after flash
     
  6. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Well i just got done using it, and it worked perfect for me. I had all 35 of my apps up in running in no less than ten minutes after flash.


    Edit: And when you use Astro to backup, you can't get ANY updates for those apps.

    AppBrain FTW
     
  7. KyleBlowers

    KyleBlowers Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm slightly perplexed.. how exactly does appbrain keep track of all your apps, free AND paid? Are paid apps linked to google account?
     
  8. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    9
    Im about to flash again too. Im going to try titanium back up. It supposedly saves preferences and settings of apps. And also trying bookmark back up.

    How would u use astro to back up?
     
  9. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    I will use brainapp then and give it a shot. Thanks for the update on it. I wonder why I thought I swear I saw Caddy say something like that.

    Does it keep the settings too?
     
  10. dandaman96

    dandaman96 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the input guys. I got restless, wiped and flashed before I came back to these replies. Next time around, I'll give some of these methods a try. Thx again.
     
  11. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    Then there are Linkables, aTrackDog and MyBackup. MyBackup does bookmarks and home screens too.
     
  12. tokyoglow

    tokyoglow Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just do a NAND backup. I've flashed a few ROMS but like the official root the best right now.

    go into recovery (vol up + power) and go to backup and do NAND

    the next time you need to go back to a previous ROM restore from the NAND you backed up (take not of the numbers of the file, they tell you the date and time that it was made.)

    this keeps all settings, apps, and configurations
     
  13. gluis

    gluis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Astro app backup works good but for apps only. I've switched to using Titanium as it does the whole enchilada, apps AND settings. Love it now with the new ROMs coming out.

    Flash to new ROM, first market app is Titanium, reload apps + sys data, power off, power back up and bingo, like you never left.
     
  14. irod87

    irod87 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1

    That sounds awesome.
     
  15. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    ok, used appbrain on a friends phone before root and when i installed it and went to install the other apps, it didnt have them so he has to redownload them all cept the paid apps he had. what did i miss so when i flash to the next rom i dont make this mistake again.
     
  16. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    You need to register on appbrain.com and sync your apps first. You can install/uninstall right from your web browser. Its a great way to do it.

    When you restore with Astro, you will NOT be able to receive updates for your apps anymore. So i cant see why anyone would ever want to use astro to restore apps.
     
  17. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    OK. Will do this for the next ROM I flash to. Friend only had like 5 apps so it wasnt a big loss. But for me, that is when I care, lol
     
  18. K0CAW

    K0CAW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just switched to Titanium as well. The fact that it backs up the app and system data makes it perfect for restoring everything after a ROM flash. I updated to ivan's latest ROM today, and my Sense scenes, SMSs, and app settings were all back within 10 minutes. Also, if you donate (which I plan to), you can do an unattended restore. Good app, responsive dev. What more can you ask for?

    Just remembered, Titanium also backs up the market entry, so you'll still get app updates after restoring. ASTRO doesn't do this, unfortunately.
     
  19. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    I just installed Titanium as well. So next flash we shall see how it works out for me. I guess Ill prob get rid of appbrain now that I have this. Thanks for heads up. Saving settings is a huge thing for me cuz you never rem what the f you did before, lol
     
  20. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    Just did a restore with Titanium and didnt see any of the apps in the market after doing a restore. Am I supposed to? I did a full restore. Everything else was restored but that when I looked in My Downloands, no apps shown. Are they still going to get updated?
     
  21. rogcontact

    rogcontact Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    26
    Hi Guys,

    MyBackup Pro can now do this for rooted phones.
     
  22. ///Nick

    ///Nick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do any of the backup programs keep the app saved exactly the way you have them? Ex. I have handcent 2.3.xx and the newest version is 2.9.33. Will I get the newest version or the one I had installed?
     
  23. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    111
    With Titanium, it will keep all info on all your programs that you tell it to. If you get the paid version, it will also add links to the market so that you can get updates on all the programs you got from the Market. Paid and free. I highly recommend getting it. I never bought an app and prob never will again but I bought this one. Makes flashing through ROMs so much easier, esp the auto install all your apps.
     
  24. Murphy

    Murphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    5
    nOOb Root question but, I tired Titanium and it goes to setting SuperUser permissions and then nothing happens.

    Am I just impatient or do I need to do something else?:confused:

    DUH. USB Debugging was turned off. Fixded it!!
     
  25. ///Nick

    ///Nick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can MyBackUp Pro or another app do the same? I need to backup all my apps before I root because there are a few apps that have updates that I do not want based on user reviews. I know that Titanium is only for a rooted phone which does no good for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...