1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Any way to make google search use dolphin HD by default?


Last Updated:

  1. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Whenever I do a search w/ google search widget it will open the searched items in the HTC internet browser. I checked for a setting but didn't find any. Dolphin HD is the default browser.

    Thanks
    Dave
     

    Advertisement
  2. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    75
    Don't believe so.
     
  3. peck1524

    peck1524 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    iSearch widget.......you won't be dissapointed
     
  4. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    That also doesn't use dolphin hd by default.
     
  5. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    115
    I have xScope assigned as my default browser & when I use the Google Search bar, it uses xScope. If I dont have a browser assigned as default, it'll ask me which browser first before performing the search.
     
  6. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    oddly, mine doesnt. Are you using the widget? What version are you running??

    Thanks
    Dave
     
  7. SinR1

    SinR1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    The Dolphin HD Browser has the same thing. If this isn't happening, I'd uninstall it and reinstall it again.
     
  8. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do have the option to set dolphin hd as the default browser and it is set as such however the google search widget doesn't use it. Emails open links in dolphin just fine.
     
  9. OnYourKnees

    OnYourKnees New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think an uninstall re install is your best bet. My google search widget DOES open up in Dolphin HD.
     
  10. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone know if there is a way to back up dolphin HD settings, gestures, bookmarks etc? Id really hate to have to redo all of that again if I do uninstall and reinstall again.

    Dave
     
  11. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    115
    I would check out the Market & they probably have an add-on to do that.
     
  12. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    120
    Can you clear the defaults for google search? If so it may ask you what browser you want to use the next time you use it. Similar to clearing the defaults for HTC Sense when you are trying to use a different launcher...?
     
  13. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    If you are not being asked for a browser then one has already been set to default. To make it so you can change browsers you must clear the defaults of that browser first. In other words if its set to the default browser then you must clear the defaults for the default browser.

    Do This:
    1. From the main screen click menu/settings/applications/manage applications
    2. Click on the "All" tab (This might take time to load)
    3. Find the application "Internet" and click on it.
    4. Click the "Clear defaults" button.

    Now when you do a google search you will be asked which browser to use. In this case you will select Dolphin HD and should make you happy :-D
     
    ocnbrze and lovemyned like this.
  14. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Eureka!!! Thanks much..
     
  15. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Anytime. I have a thread in my Sig that you can post questions in, were I will respond quickly if you need other assostance.
     
  16. TT_Vert

    TT_Vert Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well oddly,on the google search widget, the typed search goes to dolphin still but voice searches go to the htc internet browser..
     
  17. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Yes Oddly. Well at the moment that seems to be a bug, but you can click on the item you searched for and if Dolphin is your default browser then it will still use it when you click on a link. So it seems just the results are using the default browser.
     
  18. lovemyned

    lovemyned New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me but instead of "internet" is was "web". Now my Dolphine HD browser is used when I click the search button or use Google Search.
     

Share This Page

Loading...