Any way to move contacts over from Pre to Evo?Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    Sprint can not do it, also Best buy cant do it. any other way i can get this done?
     

    Advertisement
  2. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    I believe that there is a patch that you can use on the Pre to export the contacts to a .csv file, and then enter them in your Contacts section of Gmail. Once there, they will show up automatically when you enter your contact details on your EVO.

    I don't use patches, so I'm forced to do it manually. Errr.
     
    Agent Jones likes this.
  3. Nem_Zero

    Nem_Zero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    11
    Well with this Instinct, it says it backs up my contacts to Sprint. I doubt that means anything for getting them over to my EVO. I'll prolly fish around via USB and pull them that way. I'll likely end up doing it manually tho.
     
  4. dylan88

    dylan88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    196
    i remember when i got my pre and activated it at home, all my contacts from my old phone were already there. i got my pre shipped to me, and never had to go to sprint.
     
  5. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105

    That's because a feature of the Pre's webOS is that it pulls in contacts from Facebook and Gmail automatically.
     
  6. misterzeno

    misterzeno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    31
    If you use GMAIL the contacts should be online. I manage my contacts on gmail.com and the phone syncs them automatically.
     
  7. ekt8750

    ekt8750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    133
    Can't Android pull all your contacts out of Outlook?
     
  8. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    if you can get it to work, google contact sync will do the trick, or the patch that esone mentioned works great too.
     
  9. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    The Pre only syncs one-way...and Google Contact Sync doesn't work on a Pre.
     
  10. dylan88

    dylan88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    196
    when i got my pre, i did not have gmail OR facebook :D
     
  11. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105

    Hmmm Then I wonder how those contacts got there. The Pre doesn't do the Sprint Backup feature.
     
  12. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    It's supposed to sync both ways, it doesnt always but it is supposed to. That's why i said if you can get it to work. LoL. I've heard people say it works and others say it doesnt. It never worked for me but I've heard others swear up and down that it syncs both ways.

    edit: things like this are why the pre failed. Quirky things pissed off the people that actually liked the phone and so they didnt suggest buying it to their friends.
     
  13. GhostFlame

    GhostFlame Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    13
    couldn't you send the contacts over Bluetooth? i can do that with my rant
     
  14. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    The Pre? Hahahaha it does not sync both ways! I wish it did, but it definitely does not.
     
  15. burgertime

    burgertime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    260
    You can indeed grab contacts via bluetooth. That is how I got my contacts from my Mogul to my Pre when I bought the Pre on release day.
     
  16. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    the reason the pre had the contacts is because it has cloud service with palm. all of your apps and contacts are stored under your palm profile. i have had about 4 pres cause of all the problems and every time i get a new one i put in my information and it syncs with palm to pull down my contacts. however the evo cant read that information.
     
  17. katmandoo122

    katmandoo122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    32
    Um, not to be obtuse, but are your using a Gmail account? If so, the contacts are synced with Google Contacts. When you sign your Evo on to the same account, it will sync the contacts it too, no?

    So basically what Mrzeno said. If you are not using Gamil, then open up a Gmail account and add it to your Pre. You'll want it for Android anyway.
     
    misterzeno likes this.
  18. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    i have way too many contacts to go through each one and send via bluetooth
     
  19. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    No. The Pre does not "upsync" the contacts. So, if I have a Gmail contact to whom I have added a phone number on my Pre, that number does NOT get pushed BACK to Gmail.
     
  20. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    Same here!
     
  21. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    im using hotmail on pre and gmail on evo.
     
  22. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    this is correct. if i sync pre with google it will only add contacts that i add from that point on....also will not push them back to google. it only pushes contacts back to palm profile (which the evo can not read)
     
  23. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    Are you using preware? If so, look for the patch to export contacts. Just search contacts and it should come up. I used it and it works amazingly.
     
  24. mikevember

    mikevember Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you use Google as your default contact account. It does sync both ways. Anytime I add a contact on my Pre it is updated in my Google Contacts account. It does work.
     
  25. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105

    But what about existing gmail contacts that get new phone numbers? they don't get synced. only brand-new contacts.

    So, for example, if I emailed someone in the past, they were synced down to my phone. Then I add their number on my pre. The number is not synced back to Gmail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...