Any way to use Yahoo on my ErisGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. frady2001

    frady2001 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, this is my first phone that does anything other than make calls (well, my last phone did take pictures) and I'm pretty new to all of this.

    When I purchased my phone the lady set up a gmail account, but I have no real desire to use gmail. How can i set up my phone to use my Yahoo account?

    Thank you for any help you can give me in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. civichater

    civichater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to upgrade your Yahoo account to the premium that runs $30 a year for it to work on your android phone
     
  3. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    Actually you don't have to upgrade to Yahoo plus. Give a moment and I will get the set up instructions.
     
  4. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    Caution: Before Proceeding, ensure that WIFI is turned OFF. This only works via Verizon 3G Signal.

    Click on the Manual Setup at the bottom left corner
    In the incoming server setting, entering as followed
    username: xxx@yahoo.com (enter in your complete yahoo email address)
    password: enter in your yahoo password account
    IMAP Server: imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Port: 143
    Security Type: None
    IMAP Path Prefix: leave blank / Optional

    Press next to continue with SMTP Server. Once on that screen, enter in these settings

    SMTP: smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    Port: 587
    Security Type: None
    Check "required Sign-In"
    Username: xxx@yahoo.com
    Password: your email password
    Now click through next and fill out the name, etc. You are done. You now have IMAP setup
     
    irod87 and crush80 like this.
  5. spawn

    spawn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thats no longer working. I managed to get that going earlier today than i noticed i was no longer getting emails. Now is asking me for a correct username and password which i know is correct because i use it all the time plus it works on the site. In closing...there is got to be a way around this.
     
  6. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    If you set the check inbox any less then at 30 min. intervals, it won't work,
     
  7. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    It could be a glitch at the moment, so see if it resolves later, but my assumption is that yahoo caught on to all the people "getting around" paying for the service. Only BlackBerry and iPhone are "allowed" to access Yahoo! Mail because they have agreements.
     
  8. frady2001

    frady2001 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, thanks for the great information.

    I dont mind a $30 a year fee if I get to use my Yahoo account instead of switching over to Gmail. Once I upgrade I can set it up on my Eris without issues?



    On a side note..... Am I just being stubborn? Is gmail better than yahoo in any way? I have used Yahoo for 12 years now and I love it.
     
  9. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    I think it is better... but go log in to your gmail account and give it a spin. See what you like, don't like, confused with, and people could try to assist. Good luck
     
  10. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    It's better for the contact management alone. Anything you do on an Android phone regarding contacts is automatically reflected in Gmail. Anything you do in the Gmail web interface regarding contacts is automatically reflected back to your phone.
     
  11. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Has anyone figured out the YMAIL directions, these dont work for YMAIL, the alternative Yahoo! Mail address.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  12. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    two things
    1) you DON'T need a yahoo pay account to sync your yahoo mail.
    I have my yahoo syncing to the phone every 4 hours and it works like a charm.

    2. I used the direction above to set mine up and it has been working great.(knock on wood) I do think I might have used a different port number then the 587 listed above (maybe 25?). don't remember.

    the yahoo syning info is out there on the boards, thats where I got it.
     
  13. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    I cannot find "manual setup" referred to in the instructions above. I assume it is in Yahoo mail, but I don't see it. I can't figure out how I change any pop setting on Yahoo.

    I have Yahoo Mail Plus.
     
  14. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just making sure you guys saw this post.
    Mine is set for 4 hours.
    I think I can be away from e-mail 4 hours at a time, see I have a laptop at home and work.....LOL
     
  15. Termin8

    Termin8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, my Eris gets my Yahoo mail just fine. The Verizon guy set it up for me when I bought the phone. And I DO NOT have a pay Yahoo account.
     
  16. JackButler

    JackButler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried and tried, no luck for two days now.
    I finally just setup a shortcut with my signed in yahoo mail account. Sure, no instant notification, but at least I can access it within a few moments.
    Figured this might help others with the same issues.

    Update...This just worked (stolen from elesewhere) I kept missing the "mobile" part on the bottom because it come sup automatic smtp.mail...etc, eyes played tricks on me!
    Or, maybe it worked because I setup the above shortcut and signed in, either way both are working fine at this time.


    UserName - your yahoo email account address
    Password - your yahoo account password
    IMAP server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Port - 143
    Security type - none
    IMAP path prefix - (none)

    Outgoing Server Settings:
    SMTP server - smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    Potr - 587
    Security type - none
    Require Sign in - "checked"
     
  17. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6

    Thats what you were missing you need "Mobile"
     
  18. btate51

    btate51 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did everything on the list but can't get passed the first part.
     
  19. JackButler

    JackButler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just keep trying, I read that one person got it to work on the thrid day, ironically me too.
     
  20. bodhi61

    bodhi61 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a long time Yahoo user and got a Gmail account a couple of years ago. It filters out spam much better although I never use it to register for forums and the like. The biggest thing I notice is that attached pictures are viewable right away with no need to download anything. Google's Picasa is also great. I used it before Google acquired it and it has only gotten better. Also there may be an app. but it's the easiest way to back up your contacts (Automatically) away from the phone.
     
  21. rdalev

    rdalev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just used this method and it works like a charm !

    Now if I could just get mt AT&T account to work, life would be grand..............though I doubt at&t is too worried about me and my Eris , since they're pushing the iphone !
     
  22. JackButler

    JackButler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update, now today it isn;t working..."login failed"
    Any clue?
     
  23. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just got that when i went to check yahoo email while on wifi so i shut it off and tried it over the cell network and it works fine wierd.....try it with wifi off
     
  24. GrdLock

    GrdLock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    188
    I set my free Yahoo account up using this method 3 weeks ago when I bought my Eris. Set it up to check mail every hour, and it's been working like a charm ever since.
     
  25. JackButler

    JackButler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have wifi on.
    I know (can't recall where) that there is alot of bug issues still with yahoo, must be one of those is all I can think of.
    Argh.
     

Share This Page

Loading...