Anybody experience problems since the "system update"'


Last Updated:

  1. RollBravesRoll

    RollBravesRoll Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm kind of shocked right now. I've been a happy Hero owner since the day of my purchase. With all of the updates I haven't had one problem that I wasn't able to hop on here, research a little, then figure out fairly quickly. Sure, it's laggy sometimes, but all in all I can deal with it.

    However, yesterday my phone did an automatic update. Prior to that, my apps all worked fine. I travel a lot so I use the Sprint GPS that 2.1 provided me a pretty good bit. I live in SE Alabama, so I travel on a lot of backroads, & even when my service is spotty, the app itself always works & never gives me any problems. Apparently, until yesterday.

    Since yesterday afternoon (update took place yesterday morning & is the only thing I can point this too), I've had problems left and right, with apps auto closing. I've been busy as all get out, so I did d/l some new apps yesterday for the first time in a while, along with updating all of the current ones I have for the first time in a while as well. During my 3rd or 4th update, after d/l 2 new apps, all of a sudden I started getting error messages that prevented me from updating, then 3 or 4 attempts later (different apps mind you) the market automatically closed. Since that time, I've noticed a lot of different apps auto closing.

    Then, tonight I'm driving and using my Sprint GPS & couldn't get it to stay on long enough to even put in directions. It made me put in my user information again, which it hasn't done since the first time I used it, made me acknowledge the agreement again, the works, but would randomly close out before I got any use out of it. At the time, I had very little 3G service, but like I said before that's never been an issue before. After tiring of the process I started using the Google GPS software. This one actually let me get the address listed, but would also randomly shut down in the middle of the trip. I'd then have to go through 3 or 4 times of trying to turn the app on, without it loading and immediately closing, before it would give me 15/20 minutes of solid performance, then I'd have to repeat the process all over again.

    I'm wondering if this is all a coincidence, & I went over some kind of memory limit which is causing performance issues, or if this update has somehow screwed me up. How many apps is too much? Did the update to 2.1 allow us to finally load apps to our SD, & if so have most people updated from the stock SD to help increase performance? I only ask because I haven't done so because my camera is so weak (and used to be so laggy) that I never really started using it. Is there anywhere I can find a quick guide on how to properly learn apps & how much memory they are using, or how many apps running at the same time is too much?

    TIA guys.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I'm wondering if this has to do with how many apps you have. It is reported that many users have issues when they approach 70 apps. If you are at or near this many, try uninstalling a few. Also, if you have large number of text messages, try deleting some of those.
     
  3. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    Since the update, I have actually experienced somewhat better performance (except for the keyboard lag). Before the update, I usually had to reboot every other day to keep good performance. However, I haven't rebooted in almost a week, and still get good performance.


    If you truly do have 70 apps like JB said, you need to uninstall some of those. Honestly, you know you don't use all of those on a daily basis. Think of it as a computer. The more you load up your computer's memory, the more prone to having performance issues you are.
     
  4. RollBravesRoll

    RollBravesRoll Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I've really only got somewhere between 15-20 apps, depending on how many came stock with the phone. Like I said, I don't have a lot of time to fool w/it but I know that I've never really had too many issues with it (the occasional lagginess affecting whether I can answer a call or not, lagginess w/in the keyboard) until just now. Also, I've kept my text messages deleted ever since reading, when I first bought this phone, that having too many on your phone decreases your RAM available & can cause errors that can't be overcome.

    I definitely don't have 70! Anyway, I haven't experienced many problems with it yet this morning. I'm wondering if it might have just been a coincidence last night that occurred b/c I didn't have any reception. Although, like I said before, I've used the GPS apps without having service in the past & not experienced anything like this before (automatic closing) & even last night, when it finally did work for extended stretches, there were still periods of time where I had absolutely no service (as in X on the service indicator, lol) and the GPS App would continue to work until a random automatic close. Just didn't feel like that was the issue, I guess.

    If I was to increase the memory on my SD card, is there now a way to run apps directly from your card and/or save text messages directly to it as well? I keep telling myself to "lock" certain text messages that I'll know I'll need at a later point but never actually do, then don't have the time to go through an entire thread looking for an important one when I go to delete them & save space.
     
  5. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    Now that you have updated, try out Google Navigation, you might really like it :)

    .02
     
  6. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    You need to be rooted to do apps2sd

    if you have texts that you want to save then a good app is called SMS Backup (it automatically saves texts to your gmail account in a separate folder so you can delete texts from your phone)

    There are more ways to use too much internal memory than just apps (texts, voicemails, browser cache). Rather than keeping track of how many apps you have, go into settings and monitor available internal memory, you definitely want to have more than 30MB I think, I always have more than 70MB.
     
  7. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Most of the Google experience based on location awareness WILL cause problems when having no signal, so it very well might have been your problem.
    Everything from you GPS app loading maps as you move to email and syncing.
    Glad if it all went away for ya though. There are some stand alone GPS apps out and more due out but at a premium $ due to royalty's. If your need is extensive for that function I would suggest going that route.

    Happy Trails!
    :cool:
     
  8. atapjn

    atapjn Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    does the 70 apps include the ones your phone came with.. I have like 80 all together on my phone
     
  9. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    It's a rough number, and it generaly doesn't include pre-loaded apps. So approaching 70 apps from the market, and you might expect to experience some usability issues with your phone.
     
    atapjn likes this.
  10. JarffVC

    JarffVC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    I would like to echo Jimdroid in recommending Google Nav. The Sprint Telenav software used to be pretty good but it has suffered badly from bloat.
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880

    I have not done the .6 update you saying your call is also better since???
    I guess even if I decided to root I can always revert back to .5
     
  12. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    @RollBravesRoll...

    I haven't seen anyone else mention this yet, so I'll just ask...have you tried rebooting?

    Once in awhile, after running for a number of days without rebooting, my phone will start behaving in strange ways, and a reboot has always fixed it. Just last week, Google Maps couldn't find my GPS location until I rebooted, and then it worked fine.

    Also, you should make it a cardinal rule to reboot after any update. In fact, I generally make it a practice to do two reboots in a row right after an update, just to make double sure the system is starting from a fresh boot. There have been at least two different threads recently, on different subjects, where posters said that it wasn't until they had rebooted TWICE that a strange behavior was finally corrected.
     
  13. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    i get random resets, otherwise its better
     

Share This Page

Loading...