Anybody feel like helping an idiot root his eris?


Last Updated:

  1. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    im having problems. im on 2.1ota and i want to root. im on a mac but also have a win. xp laptop.

    i cant get passed the sdk setup (sad i know.) i downloaded the sdk but i cant open it or add 2.1 platform.

    so... anybody want to help me out?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
  3. BigBeefy

    BigBeefy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    no-idea likes this.
  4. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    i really appreciate the help guys. big beefy, did you download the PB00IMG.ZIP straight to your phone? will that put it on my sd card?

    i downloaded the sdk for mac, but i cant open it. "To start the SDK Manager, please execute the program "tools/android"." when i try to open it is says "Unable to read the dictionary of the application or extension because it is not scriptable." soo idk about that.
     
  5. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    When you download the Mac version, it download a zip file called android-sdk_r06-mac_86.zip. If you have Safari set up to automatically open safe attachments, it should automatically unzip the files into a folder called "android-sdk-mac_86", probably in your Downloads folder.

    What I did was drag that folder out to my home directory, but you can even drop it in your desktop. If you double-click that folder, you should see three folders - "add-ons", "platforms", "tools", as well as a file called "SDK Readme.txt". If you see all of this, you have installed the SDK. It's that simple.
     
  6. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    hi doogald! ya i got that, whats the next step?
     
  7. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    i cant get the sdk manager to "start"
     
  8. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    man im so lost. sorry about all this guys, this is bad even for me lol.
     
  9. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    i downloaded the PB00IMG.ZIP to my computer. how do i get it on my sd card. i hooked the card up to the computer with a card reader but i dont see it, same if i hook the phone up to computer.
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    You don't have to. Your next step is this:

    With a Mac, by the way, if you follow the instructions in this:
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html

    After you have that SDK folder, you only need to do these:

    After you do this, your phone will ask if you want to mount the SD card. Choose not to - you want to charge only. Just connect it and do not mount the SD Card as a device to the Mac.

    Ok, and explanation. You need to open the Mac application Terminal. This will open a window that has a prompt with the name of your Mac, with the folder, ending with a $.

    Assuming that you moved that SDK folder to your desktop, type "cd desktop" and press return. The prompt should change to something like:

    computer-name:desktop username$

    From here, start typing "cd andr". Then press tab. It should fill out the rest of the folder name; press enter.

    From here, type "cd tools" then return. The prompt should be

    computer-name:tools username$

    If so, and assuming the Eris is still attached, you can then

    You can then type "exit" and then return to get out of ADB shell mode. You are then ready to try to root.
     
  11. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    this is what i get when i try "./adb shell" "-bash: ./adb: cannot execute binary file"
     
  12. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    i know i know..., if i cant get past the 1st step i should probably not even be messing with this stuff but i just want my phone to work....
     
  13. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    You should first make sure that it is the right file by checking for the MD5 hash. Reading my post above about the terminal, start the terminal. Just to make things easier, drag the PB00IMG.zip file that you downloaded to the desktop again. From the terminal prompt, type:

    cd ~/Desktop

    (Always hit enter unless somebody explains otherwise when you enter commands into a terminal window.)

    Now, type the following command:

    openssl md5 PB00IMG.zip

    After a few seconds, it should spit out That should give exactly this:

    MD5(pb00img.zip)= 63eacc5ede3b179f95dc22d8ef585f94

    If it does, you have the right root file.

    On your phone, with it connected by USB to your computer, you should have a notification on the phone that deals with USB. Hit that notification, and it will ask if you want to mount or not mount. If you remember from the SDK post above, you chose not to mount. This time you will choose mount, and, after a few seconds, you will see a device in the left hand column of the Finder on the Mac that is a disk drive (probably called NO NAME). You can drag the PB000IMG.zip file to the top level folder of that drive. After the file is done copying, wait about ten seconds, click the little eject symbol next to "NO NAME" in the finder (or, Ctrl-Click on NO NAME and choose "Eject" from the pop-up menu). After that is done, on the phone, pull down the notification bar and, from there, choose to disconnect USB storage. It should "prepare the SD card for mount" or something like that. At that point, you have the root image on the SD card and you should be ready to proceed. (But only after you have confirmed all of the steps in the SDK post I made above.)
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    From the prompt, enter

    LS

    It should give a list of the files in that folder; do you see "adb" in that list?
     
  15. Busphan

    Busphan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I went through this process all I had to type in the command box is adb shell. Nothing else.
     
  16. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    By the way, I hope you have some patience; I am leaving at about 5:00 this afternoon and will not be back to check on things until after 8:00 (although I think that there are others who can guide you.)
     
  17. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok i got PB00IMG.zip on the sd card, did the power off/ volumedown plus power and it did its thing. now it says
    hboot

    parsing. . .(sd zip)
    (1) userdata
    (2) system
    (3) recovery
    (4) radio_v2
    (5) boot
    (6) bootloader

    do you want to start update?

    am i on the right track to doing this without sdk?
     
  18. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    LOL im trying...
     
  19. BigBeefy

    BigBeefy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sorry for missing the question, I did not download the PM00IMG.zip file to my phone. I put it on my computer.
    BUT I did mount my SD card once to put the PM00IMG.zip file onto my card, then unmounted it.
     
  20. BigBeefy

    BigBeefy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    yes, you are on the right track, start the update.
     
  21. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    To be honest, I'd be more comfortable knowing that, first, you have USB debugging turned on with the phone, and second, that you actually figured out how to use adb to communicate.

    Just to ask the obvious questions, did you ever find that folder called "android-sdk-mac_86" on your system?
     
  22. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok got it!


    Last login: Thu Jun 10 13:12:25 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    sean-meyers-ibook-g4:~ seanmeyers$ cd
    sean-meyers-ibook-g4:~ seanmeyers$ cd desktop
    sean-meyers-ibook-g4:~/desktop seanmeyers$ openssl md5 PB00IMG.zip
    MD5(PB00IMG.zip)= 63eacc5ede3b179f95dc22d8ef585f94
    sean-meyers-ibook-g4:~/desktop seanmeyers$
     
  23. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Ok, to be honest, I think that you had better proceed with the SDK install on Windows XP. Based on your prompt, it looks like your Mac is an iBook G4, which does not have an Intel processor. The Mac version of the SDK, according to Google, only works with a Mac with an Intel processor (so that would be a Macbook, Macbook Pro, or an iMac or Mac Mini made since 2006.)

    You're going to have to follow the instructions for installing the SDK on a Windows computer. XP should be fine; I understand that people with 64 bit Windows 7 have some problems.

    [edit later]: That said, you have the proper root image on your SD card, so that's one thing checked off.
     
  24. BigBeefy

    BigBeefy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    6
    it seems to be working for him. he is able to use the commands to find his md5 hash correctly.
     
  25. no-idea

    no-idea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    no i do not see "adb" in that list
     

Share This Page

Loading...