Anybody have 2 browsers on their phone?


Last Updated:

  1. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have the pre installed browser and a week ago installed Skyfire the app that will play SOME flash content. Whenever I go on certain websites like Facebook, it will ask me which browser to use. So I select one, then the box comes up every couple seconds asking me to choose which browser to choose after I already selected one of them! This is so frustrating some times! I don't want to make skyfire my default since its still in Beta stages.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bp328i

    bp328i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    39
    If you select Skyfire as your default you can clear the choice anytime you want by going into Setting>Applications>Manage Applications>Skyfire>clear defaults
     
  3. Dmordarski

    Dmordarski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Or just click the use always box at the bottom of the selection box when it pops up
     
  4. skilaufen

    skilaufen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    88
    I have both Skyfire and the stock browser. I use the stock browser as my default and when I need to view a video I switch to Skyfire. Just hit the check box when it asks for you to pick a browser and make the stock one your default. It has worked well for me doing it that way. If I know I am going to a site with a video I will just start out using Skyfire.
     
  5. WJ1023

    WJ1023 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 4. Dolphin HD, Xscope, Skyfire and the stock browser. X and dolphin seem a bit faster. I keep skyfire for the flash. After Froyo we shouldnt need any other browser if the changes live up to expectations. Increased browser speed and flash 10.1...
     
  6. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Stock browser for everything but YouTube, there I use Skyfire. I just make sure skyfire is disabled after use as it seems to suck on the battery.
     
  7. snapcase

    snapcase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    69
    I tried Skyfire, more than once. I uninstalled it because it hardly ever played a video and was a buggy piece of crap. I was disappointed to say the least.

    I have Dolphin installed and it works reasonably well. I also have Dolphin HD to test it out but will probably uninstall that since they actually removed features from Dolphin just so you'd have to add them as separate extensions (that also take up a space in your app drawer).
     
  8. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    7
    snapcase, I was able to watch a video that was emailed to me by using Skyfire. I also was able to watch various flash videos on Mtv.com's website with no problem either so it must have been the sites you were going to that were giving you trouble.
     
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    I have my stock browser, dolphin HD, and opera mini.
     
  10. RyanB

    RyanB Guest

    Stock and Opera mini. Opera is my default, though I wish it could handle video, otherwise I'm pretty pleased with it.
     
  11. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    Stock and Dolphin HD, though really Dolphin's just more sluggish and a bit glitchy right now on Froyo. If only stock had tabbed browsing...
     
  12. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Stock with Flash? Sorry on 2.2 :cool:
     
  13. damule6666

    damule6666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    26
    XScope and Dolphin HD
     
  14. KidFlash

    KidFlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    13
    Stock. I've tried others, but stock always seemed to run the fastest and least buggy, especially on 2.2 with Flash!
     
  15. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    3 at the moment.
     
  16. Ally305

    Ally305 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have 2.

    The stock browser and xScope Lite. I've used Opera and Dolphin Browser before.
     
  17. klwheat

    klwheat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use the stock browser and dolphin HD. Every once in a while...it just pops up and asks me which i want to use also. Kinda annoying...but never really bothered to try to fix it...lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...