Anyone Brick and want to share????


Last Updated:

  1. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    Anyone brick an incredible yet? I am taking the plunge and want to hear some experiences...i have flashed many a ROMS on my moto droid and have bricked before with that phone (i think it was a bad ROM that was the problem)
     

    Advertisement
  2. mihneagabriel

    mihneagabriel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    12
  3. Droidguru

    Droidguru Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought I bricked my phone earlier today because it turned off suddenly and I couldn't turn it back on, but a simple battery pull and power button press did the trick.
     
  4. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    The only ways to brick an Incredible so far that I know...

    1. Flashing a radio and pulling the battery in the middle of it.
    2. Flashing the 2.05 radio over itself (aka, flashing it twice).

    Of course if someone put out a malicious ROM, that would brick a phone too. But our devs are awesome :)
     
  5. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried going back to 2.1 from a 2.2 ROM (CM6) and I guess I totally fudged up somewhere cause it just stays at the HTC Incredible boot screen.....


    any clues?
     
  6. GMK83

    GMK83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    183
    Do a nandroid
     
  7. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did...heres what it says:

    (after loading the data,datadata,etc)

    restoring CACHE:

    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    (file exists)
    E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/command
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    (file exists)
    E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/log
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    (file exists)


    then I reboot system now and it does nothing after the HTC Incredible screen.

    once again...any clues on what it might be?
     
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Not sure, but if you can get into Hboot, I would just restore your whole phone.
     
  9. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    such as doing what?
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    What is your current radio? I'm thinking Bandito might be right. May be best to place a stock recovery image on your SD card and recover via hboot.
     
  11. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, I just tried to wipe data/factory reset and it did this...

    no app2sd partition found. skipping format of /sd-ext.


    hmmm?
     
  12. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    current radio is 2.X....I updated to the 2.2 froyo leak and then went to the CM6 mod.

    felt like going back to stock 2.1 so I tried this method "http://androidforums.com/incredible-all-things-root/123816-how-revert-back-earlier-version-hboot.html" and I guess I didnt do things right. I ran the "RUU.exe" and it told me that it could not be flashed due to it being out of date or I had an older version. Ever since then, this has been happening to my phone.
     
  13. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried using a recovery image I had but it says "Main Version is Older!" and then asks if i want to reboot device.


    I'm at a total loss...I do see that I'm not the only one thats had this problem and I see that a bunch have said that my phone has not bricked...I just haven't found a solution.
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
  15. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this last night, it didn't work...I'm just gonna take it back to Verizon and tell them that I loaded some music on the SDcard last night or something and then this happened. This is actually my 2nd refurb and I've only had it a week....so maybe they'll just not deal with it and send me another refurb. Heres to hoping....if not, I do have insurance and can claim "Oh...someone stole it." lol.
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    If you change your mind, let us know at what point it failed. I forgot to mention that you'd need a card reader to put the IMG file on your SD card since you're stuck in the boot loop. Anyway, hope everything works out for you.
     
  17. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    heck i guess I didn't update this thread...I searched more into downgrading the HBOOT and it led me to a thread on XDA. That was the trick! I just had to run Unrevoked Forever and turn the S-ON to S-OFF and then flash the PB31IMG.zip file. Luckily, I could install this on the SDcard on my wife's Eris and move the cards over to my Incredible....so it worked out great. I'm back up and not bricked!

    Thanks for the tips, fella! Now, I'm pretty sure that I can get the Official OTA tomorrow even with S-OFF.....but I'm still wondering. Reason I'm sure is because after my phone finally rebooted this morning, I got a OTA update....honestly, I thought it was the 2.2 OTA. LOL!
     
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    Cool, I thought about Forever but I thought hboot might still be a limiting factor in this case. Good to know, thanks for the update.
     
  19. ScottytheIncredible

    ScottytheIncredible Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah and from what I've read, Forever S-OFF's and -ON's now...so I'm probably gonna get the OTA coming and then try to S-ON it for warranty/replacement purposes.

    I'm learning all this lingo stuff slowly but surely.....
     
  20. ashtongarren

    ashtongarren New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey need help please, i d.l a mod and tried to reboot and go to the screen where u click on the android guy and i click it does nothing but keep poping up errors on everything and i have to foreclose all the errors, ive tried wiping data and cache; i hope i have not bricked my phone please help with some of your knowledgeable input please!!
     
  21. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    Need more details man. What did exactly did you download? What function of hboot are you trying to use, your current setup, etc.
     
  22. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13

Share This Page

Loading...