Anyone else finding auto focus to be annoying and wrong?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Atty

    Atty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    I love this phone, maybe because it is my first real smartphone (BB Storm wasn't a smartphone, it was a special education student), or maybe it is just that awesome.

    Anyway, it seems that autofocus never focuses on what I want it to. Or at all, so it seems.

    Am I doing it wrong? Is my phone broken? Halp.
     

    Advertisement
  2. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    So you are just touching the screen where you want it to focus correct? Works awesome for me.
     
    Atty likes this.
  3. azgunz

    azgunz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have yet to get one but I played with it and it seems pretty cool. A nice feature
     
  4. Atty

    Atty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    OH. I didn't know that. :eek:
     
  5. chris61292

    chris61292 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    15
    is there a way to make it focus every time you press the button to take a picture?
     
  6. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    Yay GJ GMB.

    don't forget to thank him, Atty.
     
    Atty and GrandMasterB like this.
  7. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    If you dont wanna touch the screen just hold the trackpad for a second without pressing the button and it will focus centered on the screen.
     
  8. Atty

    Atty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    New to this "Thanking" system and forum, thanks for the heads up.
     
    GrandMasterB and jamor like this.
  9. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    I haven't used the optical pad to take pics (I use the touch screen) but it probably is the same as if it were a regular camera. Press the button down about halfway so it can autofocus, then fully after it has focused.
     
  10. chris61292

    chris61292 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    15
    there is no halfway... there is either pressed or not pressed. just pressing the button takes a picture instantly without focusing...

    sure the phone focuses every few seconds... but i want it to focus each time i press the button
     
  11. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    This^ This^ This^ ;)
     
    yourfriendwayned likes this.
  12. ikediggety

    ikediggety Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    +1. especially when trying to focus on things that are close, my autofocus will do it's little "forward and back" thing, i'll see it actually go THROUGH the spot where it's focused correctly, but then overshoot and wind up focusing on something in the back of the room. i've heard similar complaints about the N1 camera.

    autofocus should be a feature that can be disabled, imo. from the routine it goes through, i can see that the camera has the ability to focus where i want it focused. let me focus it.

    i have, in some cases, been able to finally focus correctly by redoing the autofocus several times (like 7-8). sometimes it will finally "get it". sometimes it won't.

    also, i'm disappointed that it has no macro mode. and while i'm complaining, let me say that, especially in low light conditions, it has a really high level of jpeg compression artifacts.

    don't get me wrong, i love my phone, and i wouldn't go back to my crappy old omnia for anything less than six figures, but the camera is the one area where samsung routinely outshines htc.

    hopefully the focus and compression settings are something we can change once we get root.
     
  13. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    I turned AF off, metering to Spot, and sharpness to -1 and found quality to improve dramatically. With these settings I can take shots of close-up items in focus while the wall/room behind it is out of focus for really nice results.
     
    Squintz82 likes this.
  14. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    I could have sworn I saw an option to disable AF AND enable macro. Are you even looking at the right settings? In the same breath, you also have to realize that this is, well, a phone first and foremost. If you want something that will take amazing pictures with pinpoint accuracy/focus and take it in dim lighting, go buy a DSLR
     

Share This Page

Loading...