Anyone else having compass issues?


Last Updated:

  1. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've had this new hero after trading in my old "dusty" hero. I haven't had any dust issues since so I want to hang on to it, but I have noticed that my compass on this phone is terrible. I have to constantly recalibrate it when I am using compass based apps. Does anyone else have this issue? Does anyone know if this is a software/hardware issue and if it is fixable? I can live with it, but it is very annoying.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    There was a thread about this a few days ago... seems to be a fairly reoccurring issue.
     
  3. hood420

    hood420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    21
    My compass is sorta erratic too. It seems to only be accurate to about +/- 30 degrees or so.
     
  4. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
  5. hood420

    hood420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    21
  6. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey, glad to hear some of those gyrations did the trick. The compass can be touchy and, at least for me, is not always consistent in its calibration. I check the calibration each time I use it --- and rely on GPS when more precision is needed. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...