anyone else notice a low signal?Support


Last Updated:

  1. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got the new fascinate today. I love it. Got rid of my bold.....but my bold go so much better bars...I had like 4 to full with my bold in town......with my fascinate I only get 2 and at work I get only one...this is my only gripe with this phone...I can see it sucking the battery bad. How could I turn off 3g while I'm at work? Any ideas? I hope with software my signal will improve...
     

    Advertisement
  2. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Don't look at bars, look at Menu, About, Status. Look at signal strength in -dBm.
     
  3. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did...goes from 91 to 101....
     
  4. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    You can always update "roaming" on verizon:

    Dial * 2-2-8.
    Press your call/send button to make the call.

    Your screen will say "Programming in Process" and you will a women's recorded voice prompting you to chose option 1 (programming) or option 2 (update roaming).

    Option 1 is used to program/reprogram the phone, usually when activating for the first time or you have made any major [provisioning] changes on your account.

    Option 2 is used to update your roaming capabilities, which is basically a download that enables better roaming coverage and therefore better reception.

    You will receive confirmation messages as the process goes on.
    Once the programming or roaming update is done, the phone should reset itself (turn off and turn on).

    Do this in the area you use your phone the most, as it updates based on regions.
     
    selvikin likes this.
  5. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    great info there! i did it today and it seems to have givin me one mroe bar. but i am always lowe (db wise) then my wifes bold. faulty phone??
     
  6. orangemt246

    orangemt246 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I am reading this, my signal goes anywhere between 2 and 4 bars, just sitting on my sofa. My previous phones always had full bars. My status goes from -86dBm to -91dBm to -101dBm and back. I am watching it now as I type, even after the *228 option 2. A bug, or a recurring problem with anyone else?
     
  7. dvigue

    dvigue Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah same here..goes from 1 to 3 then back, and same with the Dbm. i really am thinking this might be a bug...

    anyone?
     
  8. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180
    Me too. Way less bars. Call quality and reception are fine so far though, but it's early ...
     
  9. fegriffith

    fegriffith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    6
    Same thing here. My wifi signal is also very weak. I can be sitting in the room right next to the router and still don't have full signal showing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...