anyone given 1.5 ghz a shot?


Last Updated:

  1. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    1.5ghz kernel, anyone?

    Im thinking about it. Be nice to get some feedback from someone else who tried it first though.
     

    Advertisement
  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    We are getting to the point of diminishing returns. Something that will load each program a few seconds faster but will takes hours of experimenting to get it running right. Yea, I will probably try it when it is available (the old Spinal Tap "But this amp goes up to eleven.")
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I agree completely and would not be leaving this on my phone for any real length of time. Fun to mess around with though.

    I just tried and couldnt get it installed so I am probably giving up unless someone makes it an update.zip or something easy
     
  4. eeraider

    eeraider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, my phone flakes out at 950 MHz or higher, so nope, I will not be giving this one a try.
     
  5. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I think if we submerse our phones in liquid nitrogen 2ghz will be no problem. It will just be painful to make calls with my Droid frozen to my ear :eek: (but then again, 3 or 4 months ago who thought we could get reliable results at 1.2?)
     
  6. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    lol, I was going to post a thread about this too.. Idk if that's even safe for our droid long term is it? I want to try it. I mean, that'd be sick! "hey my droid is running 1.5Ghz" lol. Some crappy laptops are running that I think and our droid's could be! ;) But Idk, maybe.. Could it do major damage though?
     
  7. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95
    I'm going to hold off for that 3ghz kernal they are discussing over there. :D:D:D:D
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I heard rumors that if you fold your SD card in half it will actually double it's storage capacity :D
     
  9. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95

    No no... you read that wrong.


    Folding your SD card cuts your storage in half.
     
  10. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah duhhh! :p
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    But your speed should double because the bytes can jump to the other side :confused:
     
  12. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95
    But your phone also requires modification to use the new high cards as well.

    To me, it all seems pointless anyway, though. I mean, ever since they discovered the USB Host hack, I've just been carrying around my 2tb external HD plugged into the droid. Who worries about a 16 gb card when you have that kind of space?
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    So do you just have that 2TB hd in a big fanny pack? If so I think we need pics :D

    Im thinking it would probably look like something similar to this

    [​IMG]
     
  14. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Ouch! I didn't need to see that this early in the morning :eek::eek::eek:
    I duck-taped my old adaptec scsi card to my droid, hard wired it, and have it chained to a hard drive, hp scanner, and an old laser printer. I painted the Android logo on the required wheel barrel. Looks cool! Can I borrow a long extension cord????
     
  15. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I haven't "felt" any significant difference with anything above 1100 that I've tried. Even 950-1100 is very little change. Of course the benchmarks are higher, but in real world use, it feels about the same. I don't think it's worth it for me to try to push the thing to 1300-1500 and risk causing problems when it's faster than hell already.
     
  16. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Who's up for some DICE runs? I'm sure we can push it to 4GHz that way.

    I agree it's getting a little like, let's see exactly what the breaking point is. Especially since some people can't get above 950, or even 800. I don't know what vcore those high OCs need, but with passive cooling it's just going to reach a point of either overheating or instability, or both.
     
  17. Anonimac

    Anonimac Your mom goes to college. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    7,564
    Your math is still a bit off...folding your card in half reduces your storage by 100%!
     
  18. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    '

    Right, that's what I was "duhhing" about lol.
     
  19. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm waiting for a dual-core processor upgrade for the Droid:p Then we can use that 3GHz kernel to push 6!:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...