Anyone have any luck mounting the micro SD card in Ubuntu?Support


Last Updated:

  1. benmarvin

    benmarvin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    No matter what I try I just can't seem to get it to work. The card mounts fine in a card reader, it's formatted to FAT32, and it reads fine in the G1. But when I plug in the G1 to the USB all it will do is charge, and not mount the card.
    Do I need to install something special? Am I missing something simple? I've been over this a thousand times and can't seem to figure it out. I've searched around here and on the Ubuntu forums and can't seem to find an answer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    I've never had any issues in Ubuntu, I assume you know you have to pull down the menu and mount once you plug in? :)
     
  3. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Ubuntu auto mounts the SD card when it is plugged in via the USB once you have told the G1 to mount the SD card like devolio mentioned. Then your G1 will be mounted under /media/disk
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    I had issues on Vista but never with Ubuntu... would have to agree either you need to select the mount option or you need to check your usb cord...
     
  5. benmarvin

    benmarvin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm using the USB cable that came with the G1. It connects to USB, the popup shows in the notification area, and I select Mount, but it never shows up on my Desktop. I wouldn't think so, but I need to edit anything in /etc/fstab? It's gotta be something simple I'm overlooking. The card doesn't even show up in "fdisk -l".
     
  6. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Are you trying it on front usb ports or something? You also may want to look into adding the vendorID thing (see here).
     
    5ynic likes this.
  7. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    So the phone is recognizing the connection but not Ubuntu? what version of Ubuntu are you using and do you have any security protocols setup? also are you running USB 2.0? and run ( dmesg ) take a look at it see what it says...
     
  8. Manacit

    Manacit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you aren't using some USB hub or anything, It didn't work for weeks on my Ubuntu install, I eventually gave up. Then I got a new USB hub (1.1 to 2.0, talk about an upgrade!), and it worked automatically, just like plugging in any other usb drive.
     
  9. benmarvin

    benmarvin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yup, that was it, I was using the front USB port and obviously Ubuntu or the G1 didn't like that. Got it working now. Thanks for the suggestion. I knew it had to be something stupidly simple.
     
  10. devolio

    devolio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    37
    Glad you got it working :) Front USB ports tend to be kind of weird about power.
     
    SilverWave likes this.
  11. SilverWave

    SilverWave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah this was really helpful - I was actually plugging the mouse in via PS2 to stop the issues I was having.

    Plugging in via the front usb's stopped me typing!
    Also other weird behaviour.

    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid. 64bit HTC Desire.
     
  12. 5ynic

    5ynic New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so the answer is, you can often only mount as a disk drive using the REAR USB port. I did not know that.

    Thanks Devolio, that was the answer - I'm on a Lenovo Thinkpad, and there's only one rear USB. From now on I'll use the front USB ports for my mains-powered external HDDS. This was the 4th forum I'd trawled thru, and I'm glad I scrolled down as far as your answer!



    Google-friendlies:
    Ubuntu Android mount as disc disk USB front port rear port

    :D
    5ynic
     

Share This Page

Loading...