• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Anyone have security issues with Yahoo! Mail app?

Nor*Cal

Mar 22, 2011
Bay Area
I'm using the Yahoo Mail app on my Thunderbolt (in addition to my gmail app). Today, for the first time in over 10 years of having my Yahoo email, my account was hacked and spam was sent to my contacts using my email address. Luckily no virus was attached, it was just some online pharmaceutical website.

I checked the login history and it showed 2 logins using Yahoo Mobile in Mexico.

I've changed my password but am now worried about my Yahoo app and how safe it is. I'm new to android and new to using this app.

Anyone else have any problems with their yahoo mail or heard of any security issues?

I did a bit of google searching but did not come up with much except for this web site that basically claims that just about all of the android email apps are risky.

Your feedback is appreciated.

Reactions: ManofKent
I'm using the Yahoo Mail app on my Thunderbolt (in addition to my gmail app). Today, for the first time in over 10 years of having my Yahoo email, my account was hacked and spam was sent to my contacts using my email address. Luckily no virus was attached, it was just some online pharmaceutical website.

I checked the login history and it showed 2 logins using Yahoo Mobile in Mexico.

I've changed my password but am now worried about my Yahoo app and how safe it is. I'm new to android and new to using this app.

Anyone else have any problems with their yahoo mail or heard of any security issues?

I did a bit of google searching but did not come up with much except for this web site that basically claims that just about all of the android email apps are risky.

Your feedback is appreciated.