Anyone Install A 32GB Micro SDHC YetAccessories


Last Updated:

  1. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Has anyone actually actually installed a 32GB Micro SDHC card in their Vibrant yet? All of the reviews and unboxing videos I've seen have claimed a 32GB card capacity for the Vibrant yet, as we know, the manual states the maximum card capacity is 16GB.

    Anyone try this yet and know for sure?
     

    Advertisement
  2. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Samsung Vibrant - Full phone specifications

    This spec sheet shows 32GB capacity for the card. If it turns out the Samsung manual is incorrect it wouldn't be the first time. The first revision of the manual actually said that the camera had a flash! I pointed it out to a Samsung rep and it was revised in a couple days.
     
  3. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    hahaha! And the flash works as well as the GPS! :rolleyes:
     
  4. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    *sigh* This forum should be renamed android magical forest. Why do you ask? Because its full of magical trolls.

    On a serious note, mistakes happen. Human error. Life goes on.

    Though i too am curious as to if a 32gb will work.
     
  5. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Right you are, there are Galaxy S devices with a flash so it wasn't that big a goof. They showed corporate responsibility by correcting it immediately.
     
  6. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Same to you buddy. Why don't you head on over to eBay and see if you can get a deal on a sense of humor.
     
  7. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    no dude im just sick and tired of seeing people cry about everything. if you were joking, its my mistake.

    Text doesnt convey tone of voice and body language as well as we hope sometimes.
     
  8. ren857

    ren857 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    87
    Yes, it does work. I currently have a 32gb card in my vibrant. It works flawlessly.
     
    Jay.baker07, rocketmonkeys and robo21 like this.
  9. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    There. You have your verdict.
     
  10. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
  11. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    [​IMG] :)
     
  12. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    It was indeed a joke. I've not been complaining about the GPS situation (though my Vibrant is one of those sorely affected), though like many others I'm anxiously awaiting word from Samsung on what exactly they intend to do about it.

    How is your GPS? Working as it should out of the box?
     
  13. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Connects and finds my location 10 - 15 feet within 10 seconds.

    I have tried out google navigation. I didnt drive to the address i entered, i just checked to see if it would work.

    So no, i have not tried navigating with it, as of yet, but i will try this afternoon.
     
  14. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Absolutely, you are one of the more reasonable and logical members of the forum, at least so far... let's see how that GPS fix goes... :p
     
  15. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    10-15 feet in 10 seconds?! :eek: Gad...this I can only dream of with my Vibrant. Do give us an update on actual navigation please.
     
  16. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    We'll see what Samsung does at the end of September! :rolleyes:
     
  17. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    I'm going out on a limb and saying that you will find your navigation results will be just fine. My results on geolocation are similar. I would say that mine locates me quickly about 85-90% of the time, the rest of the time it might take up to a minute. Looking forward to the "fix" for that reason.

    Eagerly awaiting your results.
     
  18. jkcheng122

    jkcheng122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Think the bigger issue here isn't whether a 32GB SD card would work, but how long each class will take to run the Media Scan. I've heard some say their cards took 9 minutes to finish scanning.
     
  19. robo21

    robo21 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    95
    Good point, and a good reason to go with a faster card perhaps.

    It turns out that "whether the card would work" is a non-issue. 32GB will work.
     
  20. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Even a class 2 32GB card at full capacity will take 4.44 minutes to scan (2MB per second), then add whatever time the OS / Software need to do their part (usually miniscule). Class 4 cuts that in half (4MB per second).
     
  21. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    16
    My 16GB card takes a few seconds to scan on bootup. I don't think the size of the card is as important as how many files you have on it. I have a few big movies on it taking up maybe half the capacity. Maybe I'll throw some MP3's on it and see how much it slows down.
     
  22. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Still haven't found my micro sd 32gb class 10 :(
     
  23. bajabenedik

    bajabenedik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Samsung Epic 4G with a class 2 32GB SDHC card. I copied my entire mp3 collection (approximately 20GB of music) onto the card last night using USB and the copy took over 2 hours. In the morning, I checked and found the copy finished but I wanted to find out how long the media scan would take so I powered off my phone and power it back on. The initial media scan literally took over 20 minutes to scan!

    Also, now the phone acts real flaky in my Ford using the SYNC system to play my music. Before copying all my music onto my Epic, I used to be able to plug in my phone in my Ford using the USB port and it would find it right away and I was able to play and control my music using voice commands. Now it has a hard time seeing my phone on USB and it takes several tries of disconnecting and reconnecting it to see it. Then Ford SYNC says it has to index my USB device which takes about 3-5 minutes each time.

    I'm hoping I can find a "fix" for this so it plays in my Ford as it used to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...