Anyone notice a delay when turning the screen on after Froyo 2.2 update??Support


Last Updated:

  1. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    I noticed now when I press the power button to wake the phone, the bottom capacitive buttons will light up first then the display will light up. there's a noticeable lag but very short. noticeable enough from 2.1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Crodley

    Crodley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    67
    Doesn't happen on mine... /shrug
     
  3. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    I noticed this too actually. 2.1, the screen would turn on first, then capacitive buttons after a second or 2 depending on the light conditions.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    It's not consistent. Sometimes you get that, others you'll get the display with the buttons coming on later.

    It's a feature.
     
  5. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    it's been consistent for me. i'm going to be doing a full reformat once a rooted version comes out, hopefully it'll fix it by then.
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Rooted version is out, that's what I'm running.

    It's a feature.
     
  7. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    what do you mean by it's a feature?
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    If you turn yours on/off repeatedly, you might see the swapped behavior at some point.

    If so - then it means that instead of some straightforward, deterministic method such that it's always one, then the other (a common feature of 3rd generation software design on older architectures and operating systems), but is instead stochastic, meaning that you can't predict it (because the two discrete commands are given over to a scheduler that NEARLY always does what you expect in ordering the commands - a common behavior of modern systems) - then it's beyond the control of the programmers, without changing things that should never be changed, such as the various layers of the multitasking core.

    That - or they have to do a re-write to straighten out whatever assumption was made in the "light up" routine.

    In the case of trying to find time or resource to rewrite the light-up sequence, when ultimately both are working after a brief pause, in light of all the other work to be done, software engineers and programmers and their management have argued - successfully - for years:

    It's not a bug.

    It's a feature.

    PS - Based on past similar experiences - this issue was latent and has come to light now that everything's running quicker / different. Very common deal.
     
  9. henbone11

    henbone11 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    not happening on mine.
     
  10. JokerElite

    JokerElite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's happening on mine too.
     
  11. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28


    it short term
    Programers: working as intended

    lol i always laugh when i hear that
     
  12. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    It lags by like maybe a less than half a second. Probably even less than that. Not sure why this is a big issue for some people.
     
  13. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    Oh yeah, thats weird, mine is doing that as well.
    I have also noticed that the first time I swipe down the lock after a restart, for a split second I see the white HTC splash screen that has HTC in green (the one that comes up right after you do an OTA update or data reset). It lags for just a bit then switches to the home screen. It's different and slightly weird, but oh well.

    Anyone else see it on theirs?
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    It's a feature.
     
  15. south875

    south875 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have it but it's maybe a half second at most so I'm not going to let it bother me
     
  16. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    It's bothering me because I'm used to it being instantaneous.
     
  17. onilink

    onilink Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    any way to stop this? the bottom lights coming on first is starting to annoy me bad!
     
  18. manny84

    manny84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah, I've noticed this on my EVO too after the Froyo update. Doesn't bother me much.
     
  19. broken1i

    broken1i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    7
    I thought it was kinda cool.
     
  20. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    You people are strange to let this bother you.

    Yeah mine does, but so?
     
  21. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    lets leave the "you people are weird to let this bother you" comments out. comments like that don't help anyone.

    anyways, i've adjusted to this change in froyo.
     
  22. ekang

    ekang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    At the market there is this app called No Lock. Basically, instead of hitting the power button and then swiping down on the screen to unlock it, just hitting the power button or volume down button immediately unlocks the screen it becomes very fast to unlock your phone, as well as take some of the beating on the fragile power button. I haven't had a problem with it unlocking accidentally at all.
     
  23. Celsius

    Celsius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally took the plunge and noticed this happens on my Evo as well.

    Anyone find a fix for this?
     
  24. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    But so, it was better when it was instantaneous. Another thing is, if you are going from landscape to portrait, you have to tilt the phone up pretty steep for it to change, making your wrist feel uncomfortable, especially when you don't want to touch the screen and are reading something. Didn't have to do that with 2.1.

    It does look like an issue with a lot of people, as there's been other threads on the subject, so the one's not having any issues, should just ignore this thread before it becomes another common AF flame war.
     

Share This Page

Loading...