Anyone notice a weak signal with their Epic? And vs. EVO...


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Picked up my Epic this morning and love it. Also have an EVO and love it too.

    But, one issue I am having is my Epic has a much weaker signal than my EVO. It's not just less bars, but it's noticeable in sound quality/loss while talking on the phone. For example, my EVO has 2 bars and a weak signal at my home. The Epic has 0 bars and virtually no signal.

    Any thoughts on this issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jazzman09

    jazzman09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes same here
     
  3. Torq

    Torq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm seeing about the same indicated signal strength between Evo and Epic for voice and 3G data.

    However on 4G the Epic is finding and holding a signal in places where the Evo would keep acquiring then instantly dropping the signal or simply wouldn't find one at all.
     
  4. vodo

    vodo Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes I've noticed this too. The call quality and signal is noticeably worse than the htc hero I have. Especially the sound quality... I wonder if all epics are like this or just certain ones?
     
  5. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    I called my gf when I got the epic and my gf said she could barely hear me on the epic while on speaker phone. I was holding 1 phone at a time on my lap with the mix pointing towards me. She said the evo was much louder. Signal bar, the epic is usually 1 bar lower than the evo. Im still blown away by the screen and speed of it however.
     
  6. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is unfortunate. Hopefully a fix comes soon.

     
  7. SebastianX

    SebastianX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    63
    I had 2-3 bars instead of the usual 4-5 when I swapped the numbers on my account a profile and prl update followed by a reboot put me back where I was, data speeds were a little slower but for some reason picked up later in the day, not sure why.
     
  8. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    The sound is definitely worse than the EVO. And from what I've seen the 4g reception is not as good either, haven't paid much attention while on 3g. But the WIFI signal is much better.

    Overall great phone though.
     
  9. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42

    Not on my unit. I have great sound quality and the same so so Sprint signal I got with my EVO and with my Computer modem. Its Sprint not the handset.
     
  10. lxy33

    lxy33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    6
    Same here! I left verizon only for the sole reason that Sprint covered my area! I live on the hills--I get home yesterday and I have ZERO bars! I can't go online, wifi helps me a little and calls are weak! I called a rep and they said the "trees" that surround me cover the tower--he also said I had 30 days to switch carrier... I really don't want too! I love the Epic, except I just left Blackberry and I'm so use to RIM. It's hard adjusting to email notifications and other stuff---but I love it overall--

    I had a privacy protector and honestly i took it off, it looks SO amazing without it! ;)
     
  11. SebastianX

    SebastianX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    63
    Sprint's privacy protector is such a scam, who would want it anyway it takes the beauty out of the screen and the glass itself is Gorilla glass so it's really pointless to buy a screen protector. I did make a priority of getting a case though, Gorilla glass is brittle and easily shattered if dropped.
     
  12. tmaxey1

    tmaxey1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    125
    I was testing the Epic 4g signal using a speedtest app yesterday at the sprint store, I tested it right next to my Evo and the Epic was 1/2 as fast as the EVO. The evo was clocking around 4800 while the epic never passed 2300. I repeated he test about 10 times. I cant comment on call quality or 3g signal because i didnt buy the epic yet. My upgrade on the 2nd line isnt until oct. But its what i will probably buy. My girl loves physical keyboards.
     
  13. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok this describes my situation exactly. My husband has a EVO. I just got the Epic yesterday. I have 1 to 0 (usually 0) bars at home. While he gets 2 to 3. His 3g speeds are anywhere from 50 to 120 k/BS while mine are 9 to 50k/BS with 9 being closer to the norm.

    I've called sprint on the Epic and they broke up and couldn't hear me. One called dropped, and several calls the phone tried to roam. It's horrible and its terrible because I really like the phone. HTC EVO is clear as a bell and has a much faster web experience.
     
  14. alex94z

    alex94z Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    My co-worker who has an EVO and I were comparing our 3g speeds with the speedtest.net app today. He was getting about double the speed i was and we were standing right next to each other.
     
  15. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    This is not good news at all. I have 2 or 3 days to decide if I should keep my Evo or check out the Epic. I'm trying to get as much info as I can on the Epic before running off to sprint to go check it out in a little bit.
     
  16. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    I'm still waiting for UPS to deliver my Epic, but I can tell you this, I'm not willing to compromise on reception quality. If it fails at being a good phone, I don't care about anything else it may do well. We shall see.
     
  17. aznmode

    aznmode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    38
    Doing some more test at work. Wifi Evo is alway almost full 3 bars while the Epic fluctuates between 2 and 3. As far as phone signal bar, the evo stays at 5 bars but the Epic keeps jumping between 3, 4, and 5 and does not stay steady. Running Speednet again, the EVO locks on quicker when looking for servers. On wifi download speeds, evo and epic are on par at about 8500 average. Upload however Evo about 7500 and 4300 on Epic. On 3g download is about the same, but upload again the Evo is 2x as fast. Browser test, the Evo is about 5 seconds faster loading androidcentral or phandroid.com.
     
  18. Blitzpwnage

    Blitzpwnage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    7
    Maybe the radio needs to be updated? Heck if I know, its better than my old Samsung Rant thats all I can tell you


    Quoted from XDA

    "The epic gets a little less signal than my EVO did. Although the EVO had 3 or 4 radio upgrades to get it where it is now but for now it is a little less which will use a little more power until we get a few updates."

    Here
     
  19. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've tested my Epic vs EVO and without a doubt the EVO has a much stronger signal. I updated everything on the Epic and no better results. It's not just the voice quality, but the web browsing won't work in areas where the EVO does.

    I love the Epic. It packs many features which I like much better than the EVO, but adequate signal strength is a must.

    Any chance a software update can fix this issue?
     
  20. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    In my home, my wireless router is in my basement and I'm on the edge of reception, the Epic gets slightly better reception distance wise, and got some pretty awesome speeds considering it was only reading 1 bar from across the house and one level up. (12mbps with 19 mbps tops). My Evo won't get half that in my bedroom. The WIFI reception is more consistent and powerful on the EPIC IMO.

    However on both 3g and 4g, the EVO loads pages significantly quicker and is getting 2x better results on speedtest.net on 3g.


    The capacitive buttons on the Epic have already gotten on my nerves. You have to be pinpoint with the press to get any action, and when it's dark you fish around for a few seconds before finding them.
     
  21. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you talked to Sprint about your phone yet? I was told we have a tower that is waiting to be repaired and that its affecting new customers. So you have a crappy tower that needs fix and Evo customers can surf fine but you stick it to Epic? Seriously?

    First, it would be nice if Samsung or Sprint acknowledge there is an issue and tell us what they plan to do about it before the 30 days are up. I thought about exchanging it for another Epic. Maybe there is an issue only affecting a few of them.
     
  22. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    My old Evo is a tad stronger[1 bar more] but My epic still can make calls even with only 1 bar.
     
  23. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    I spoke to Sprint on this.

    Sprint is sending a signal booster but that is only good for one location. The signal is poor in many locations. So this doesn't solve my issue.
     
  24. you2

    you2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    125
    Have you checked the actual db readings? I've read else where that the bars is a bit misleading because each phone use a different scale.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...