Anyone notice this: 2.2 issues (not mentioned)


Last Updated:

  1. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    13
    I apologize in advance but haven't seen these listed yet

    1. Our News Widget using Engadget broke, when you click the stories you used to be able to go to the actual article straight from the headline, now nothing happens

    2. The volume rocker buttons actually scroll the webpage now, which is sometimes weird when your trying to lower the volume, how to lower volume now when in a webpage?

    3. I know during a call your picture id person's facebook status is displayed, but if they don't have facebook, gmail gtalk is also displayed - also my pictures are still blurry (they were taken with evo camera) ...

    4. Whats the difference now with 720p recording besides the added light? Anyone noticing a difference?

    5. Swype issues on and off, i had to re-download since after 2.2 it was telling me i had a expired version, after the download to the newest beta everything was ok until this morning when it stopped working again, and i had to re-download it again, kinda annoying -

    6. Bluetooth voice dialing is ok, tried it today with the blueant S4 that came out recently and it works but is not very accurate, some contacts work great but it takes alot of steps to actually have the thing dial out all through voice -

    7. I need more home-screens lol, I don't like switching scenes, kinda pointless
     

    Advertisement
  2. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    You need more than 7 home screens?????
     
    The Dorian likes this.
  3. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    You need to use folders.
     
  4. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Just something to try...remove the widget from the screen and add it back again. It's worked for me sometimes when a widget goes goofy.
     
  5. grindstoneslave

    grindstoneslave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    My web pages don't scroll with the volume buttons.
     
  6. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hrmmm...mine don't either. Wonder if it's a configuration setting or something. Is this the stock Android browser?
     
  7. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    13
    Actually gave up on stock since day 2, been using dolphin HD and never had that feature show up before - hmm

    Folders maybe i'll give that a shot, trying to manage all these apps in a organized way, not working even with the screens we have, - :rolleyes:

    Also just tried removing news widget with engadget and nothing worked after reapplying it, thats also not cool, (anyone else notice we now have a news and weather news widget)?
     
  8. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Hrmmmm, OK, I don't have Dolphin...not sure what is going on there.

    Another thing to try on the Endgaget widget...go to Settings->Applications->Manage Applications and select it from the list. The press the 'Clear Data' button. If that doesn't work, then try uninstalling it and re-installing it. If that doesn't work...then Engadget may have a problem with Froyo.
     
    LisaFitz likes this.
  9. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    The only issue I have right now is that all the songs in my playlist have disappeared. Now I have to redo everythign on the phone again, will probably take me 3 whole days to add all the songs on the playlist. Other than that, haven't noticed any thing different. :)
     
  10. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ok tried all that and nada, but interesting enough the smaller news widget that cycles through the stories works when you click the headlines, but the larger widget does not ... :confused:
     
  11. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Thanks for the thanks...though nothing I suggested worked. I guess Engadget just needs to fix their widget. As long as everything else on your EVO seems stable, then I would definitely say they need to test their app out with Froyo and fix it.
     
  12. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Use Winamp to create your playlist. That's what I did. I even transferred my SD card from my G1 and it kept everything in place.
     
  13. Jewo

    Jewo Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you go into Dolphin HD's settings, there's a setting to use the volume buttons to scroll.
     
    LisaFitz likes this.
  14. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've found that when swype quits "swyping" if you change keyboards and type something...then change back, it usually starts working again. I didn't find this out until I deleted and reinstalled a few times.
     
  15. LisaFitz

    LisaFitz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah saw that right before you posted, thanks!
     
  16. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    My volume rockers have always scrolled the page.
     
  17. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    Instead of folders you can get "more icons widget" from the marketplace. It allows you to put 4 small icons in the place of one large one. I use the 4x1 widget and have 16 icons in one line of my home screen instead of just 4. I really like it.
     
  18. Androidalltheway

    Androidalltheway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    40
    I updated yesterday, charged my phone last night, was on the charger over 3 hours, seemed to fully charge, took it off the charger before I went to bed, woke up this morning, the phone died, not happy at all, who else is dealing with this?
     
  19. exclamation_mark

    exclamation_mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    120
    The volume rocker scrolling the web page is a setting that can be modified in the settings from your browser. Same on Dolphin. I had to change it to be able to turn the volume up and down while on a web page with sound.
     
  20. Misbehavin'

    Misbehavin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    26
    Another solution to make more room is an app called "Apps Organizer". It allows you to label applications, instead of just making folders and shortcuts. You can change the label(s) through Apps Organizer, and it automatically updates the windows that pop up when you click on a labels icon that's placed on the home screen. It works similar to folders, but is much more flexible.

    You can also get icons outside of those that come with the app. I usually go to iconspedia.com to get my icons, and have a folder on my SD card to store the icons in.

    Apps Organizer has been indispensable for me once I found it.
     
    Mikeyz likes this.
  21. dieseldum

    dieseldum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    the hard keys when in standby mode not pugged in is still on you have to be in a dark room to see this. this could be a battery drainer
    anyone else see this
     

Share This Page

Loading...