anyone play in the kitchen?


Last Updated:

  1. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ok i got tired of just running someones rom and want to play in the kitchen and maybe one day give back to the community. I went to xda and chef central and did all the set up, installed ubuntu and my kitchen. I have gotten into the terminal and been able to load the rom and play with it, adding apps and deleting apps. I repacked the rom to a zip and when I place it on my sdcard to flash. Unable to load signed zip (bad). I saw once when it was done repacking in ubuntu it said " working folder does not contain /system/etc/init.d." Any ideas?

    I understand most of you will not understand or care but if someone does cook any roms could help me it would be great.
    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. j3h

    j3h Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have played around with it a little. i havent had enough time lately to really get into it yet. but what it sounds like to me is that a system file is missing that is needed to boot up the rom. either the original rom came without that file or some how the kitchen did not unpack/repack it properly. i would try either rebuilding your rom from scratch or using a different base rom. which one are you currently trying to use/build?
     
  3. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    First of all thanks for responding no one over at xda have bothered to answer me on this. I am using XtrRom4.2.1 and I also tried fresh and one other I cant remember off hand. I also tried the upload to rapidshare then download then I got ubuntu to recognize my usb so I downloaded it right to my usb microsd card reader.

    If I am missing a system file should I try to find it then install the system file that is missing or is it something that the kitchen is messing up?
     
  4. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    I've used kitchen quite a bit making plain jane 2.1 type of rom's and have never had a problem. I have a windows pc and use cygwin but the app runs the same as if it was in a true linux platform.

    It sounds like maybe you are not getting the right files into the original_update folder. If you are using someone else's rom just drop the zipped rom into the folder, do not unzip it. Or if you use a nandroid backup you have to open it and copy just the system and boot image files over. I've used both methods without a problem but i've only been playing with pretty much stock 2.1 roms.

    My latest attempt was just copying a nandroid backup of my rooted 2.1 rom and tweaking it with kitchen. It incorprated the zanfur overclock kernel which I had flashed and thought that was neat. I've used t2noob's plainjanev2 before with success. Maybe you should start with some thing easy like that and see if it works.

    The /system/etc/init.d error appears to have something to do with advanced step #17, ad script support (busy box run parts). You might not have set that up right or skipped #3 add busybox. I would just try doing something less complicated for your first attempt and skip some of the advanced options till you get a feel for using it.
     
  5. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I may just have to try out the plain jane and see how that one works. If I continue to have problems with the ubuntu I may try the cygwin. I know I havent messed up the transfering the zip to the file where it is used for cooking it. I don't open them or anything. I think the kitchen is the problem or the link where I get the roms.
     
  6. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    try running it without using any of the advanced options or adding anything fancy, just main menu steps #1 and #2 and see if it makes the rom without getting an error message.
     
  7. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I haven't used any advanced options yet, I started off small just adding and removing apps. I may have to try different ways, the video was a good tutorial but not perfect. It is an old setup that they showed, caused me some headaches trying to set things up.
     
  8. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    I looked at the ROM you used, xtrROM 4.2 and its pretty complicated, has cache2cache and others things cooked in that might be causing your problems. I would try something less complicated like Plain_JaneT2 to start to get a feel for making roms. T2noob doesn't mind you using his ROM as a base, at least he didn't in the past. [ROM]Plain_JaneT2 V2.0 7/18/10 Stock With everything ROOT!! - xda-developers
     
  9. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Cool I will give it a shot when my wife goes to bed. I will post what I find later. Thanks for the info you all.
     
  10. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43

    Just wanted to touch on one other thing in your original post where you say you repacked the ROM to a zip. Did you do this by entering menu command #99 (Build ROM from working folder)? Or did you try zipping the working folder files yourself? The 99 menu command builds a signed zipped ROM that will be put in the ouput folder and this is what you copy over to your sdcard.
     
  11. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yeah I hit menu #99 and it signed the zip and put it in the out folder. Feel free to ask anything you can think of, I may have missed something.
     
  12. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    Okay just wanted to make sure we covered all teh bases. I'm no expert at it but I don't think your having any problems with the kitchen program. I originally had it on a dual boot Ubuntu/Windows pc and found it so much easier to setup and run than using cywin. I've made probably 5 ROMs with it the latest today and its pretty straight forward. I'm convinced it's a problem with xtrROM and some of his tweaks in that ROM.
     
  13. Conap

    Conap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    38
    It sounds like the rom was not signed properly. I don't really use the kitchen much cause I compile my rom's from the source code but even if file's were missing in the rom I think it should still "flash" it just wouldn't boot.
     
  14. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ok, I thought I would try something. I downloaded the plainjane rom, made my working folder, then I just hit menu option 99. I moved it to my sdcard tried to flash and I get the same message. Its in the first post not retyping it. I thought that maybe one of the apks were corrupt and that was my problem, but i just unpacked and repacked it. Now could it be because i don't have the s off and fast boot and stuff.
     
  15. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    When its building the rom do you get a message about signing? I'm trying to remember what the steps were when I did my ROM today and after I entered #99 it said something about signing the rom as it was building it.
    And it took quite a bit of time for it to build it, about 15 minutes. I also did a factory wipe before installing my cooked ROM too but not sure if that is a problem here as its saying your zip file is bad.

    Installing the kitchen under Ubuntu was pretty straight forward so I can't see that as a problem. Unless there is a problem with another component like the sun java binaries, if I remember correctly I had an initial problem getting Ubuntu 10 to install this as I had to get it from a respository.

    I might suggest going through all the steps of setting up your pc to run kitchen again to make sure everything is installed correctly. But I would think that if these were not installed correctly the first time then kitchen wouldn't work at all. But I've been wrong before.

    Maybe someone at XDA will bge able to answer your questions but it might take a while as you've already seen. I've had a few questions I've asked over there that never even got one response, not even the snide try using the search function or google it replys.
     
  16. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    I looked at my ROM from today and its "signed_093010_092732.zip", is this comparable to what your file is being labeled as? Like Conap says it appears theres a problem with how the file is signed. Are you using kitchen version 0.98?

    I also don't have the s-off hboot.
     
  17. Conap

    Conap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    38
    Make sure your paths are right for your java cause it's needed to sign the rom....i know when I did use the kitchen a while ago I had to make some changes to the script that signs the rom because of where my file's were set up on the system. Also you probably already know not to change anything in the zip file after it's signed or it breaks the signature.
     
  18. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well those are great thoughts and I did them just before you posted them, so we are thinking in the same pattern. I reinstalled an older version of the kitchen, I read a post made a few hours ago over on xda saying that the newer version of the kitchen wont sign the zip the right way. On the older version of the kitchen, it does the same thing when I try to flash the zip.
     
  19. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm using version 0.98 and it signs it correctly for me.

    Following conaps thoughts I suspect that the sun java binaries are not installed correctly.

    This is from dsixda's instructions and I had to first run the section where it says if it fails to install with Ubintu 10. If I remember correctly it took a while for me to get it to install right. I'm not big on linux but there must be a way to check to see if its installed. Should be in the Home folder or something? I also think that I had Kitchen installed in teh Home folder.


    You also need Sun Java binaries installed (there may be alternatives, but the following worked for me):
    • To install, type in Ubuntu: sudo apt-get install sun-java6-bin sun-java6-jre
      • When the license agreement shows up, press TAB to select the OK button
    • If Java still fails to install, then type the following in this order:
      1. sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ lucid partner"
      2. sudo apt-get update
      3. sudo apt-get install sun-java6-bin sun-java6-jre
      4. sudo apt-get -f install
      5. sudo apt-get install sun-java6-bin sun-java6-jre
     
  20. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think it all installed correctly, I agreed to the license, and everything went smoothly. I thought I was on gravy train when everything did what it was supposed to. I may just delete everything and start from scratch.
     
  21. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    The last version I used with linux was like 0.78 or something like that. Then my MBR got fried and I had to reinstall Windows Vista and decided to go with Cygwin instead of the dual boot with Ubuntu. I actually think Cygwin is easier than using linux but you do have to folow the instruction included within Cygwin to do a custom install to get it to work properly. Good luck and I hope you get it working.
     
  22. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I may try that this weekend(if my wife doesn't kill me first):eek: I have been on the computer a bunch these past few days. could you send me the link for cygwin? Thanks.
     
  23. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
  24. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ok, I installed the cygwin followed the instructions but I can't access the menu.
    I tried the chmod +x menu, nothing, chmod+xmenu, nothing, chmod777menu. and so on.

    Do I need ubuntu installed with the cygwin? If I don't then I will uninstall the ubuntu, I want to know before I do anything with it.
     
  25. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    did you first change to the directory where kitchen is located in cygwin?

    my kitchen is located in cygwin/home/owner/kitchen where owner is the name of my pc. i do this by typing cd /home/owner/kitchen then i can type in ./menu
     

Share This Page

Loading...