Anyone running D2 keyboard on plain rooted D1?


Last Updated:

  1. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I love the white keyboard seen on the D2 and know it can be ported to the D1 but I think I understand you have to have select ROMs and they must be themed. True?

    Well, anyone have the D2 running on a D1 and just have a simple vanilla rooted ROM - maybe FRG01b or FRG22D?

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I used it at one point but it screwed up using shift on the hardware keyboard for somethings. If someone has put out a fixed version I would use it again.
     
  3. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  5. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    yep, same thread as I link to
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    yea now the links working. First few times I clicked it I got a page saying link was dead.
     
  7. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    got it working.. using the "old" "manual" mthod

    1. backup my ROM (nandroid)
    2. backup (zipped) system/lib/libjni_latinime.so with root explorer
    3. sent the apk to gmail and then installed apk
    4. copy/paste new libjni_latinime.so in place over old (remount as r/w with root explorer)
    5. installed green highlight theme .zip via recovery (found in that thread as the red is a bit harsh)
    6. settings > lang & keyboard > selected the multi-touch keyboard

    so, it seems to work. I do have the choice, using the "manual" method in that thread, to select stock keyboard or multi-touch. but I love that this multi-touch as it looks way better, seems snappier, faster, more accurate, nice colors, I do have multi touch ability now (I can touch two or more spaces on the screen and the screen registers two or more individual fingers). I did try to select the stock keyboard and did have some FC issues others reported.. but not sure I will even go back though. Also, the manual method does allow to keep the stock, so I should be able to roll back.
     
  8. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    that thread has a newer verison4 out, maybe you had an earlier version?

    my shift key and some of the other key oddities others list - alt and caps keys sticking on - seem to work as expected for me.
     
  9. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    here is green photo

    [​IMG]
     
  10. biggdogg

    biggdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    55
    You might want to try the swype beta, it looks good, similar the D2 color wise. I had it but uninstalled because I was having problems with the voice input not functioning properly and causing static on the phone. The word predictions are sick! After a few uses it becomes very smart. You don't need root either. I'm using BBv.4 but its for everyone. The X keyboard was ok ported too but it only works on 2.1. The voice recognitions were right on with it. I have the swype beta apk. If you want or it might still be in the Market, I'm not sure if its still supported or when it expires.
     
  11. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    I looked into it one time, but they have a closed beta right now so this will work for me.
     
  12. biggdogg

    biggdogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    55
    How about the Swiftkey Beta, I have an apk. For it also, its predictions ate out of this world and it looks good too, similar to these. I had voice problems with it also so that could be Rom related. If you want it let me know, I think it still works, might be on the Market also.
     
  13. BlueIce5249

    BlueIce5249 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Im using it now with no shift key problems
     
  14. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    158
    been on the multi touch keyboard for a while now, used it with bb 0.4, cm rc3, cm 6, ud8, and lfy with none of them having problems with the physical keyboard.

    to the OP, do a nandroid backup of your system, install the keyboard, if you dont like it boot into recovery and restore. :D
     
  15. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    read my post #7, point 1 :)

    anyway... so far, I really like this KB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...