anyone see this post on android central


Last Updated:

  1. borisshnitkin

    borisshnitkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get into the programming menu, from the call screen, enter ##PROGRAM and press send. Enter code 000000.

    In option 04, you can change the vocode option to EVRC-B, or 13K, it made my in-call audio sound better. I'm currently using the 13K setting. Your phone will reset after you exit and apply the new setting.

    Warning: Be careful what options you change in the programming menu, you could potentially brick your phone.

    Edit: Forgot to give the code of 000000 to enter at activation screen.



    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhance...e_Rate_Codec_B

     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Thanks for the tip
     
  3. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've done this on other Verizon smartphones and it does increase the call quality by decreasing the compression of the voice channel. It does increase the load on the local tower by an infinitely small amount but I suppose if thousands of people started do this it might have an effect on the tower's performance. Seems like I recall people in the past complaining about problems with the hand off from tower to tower and having more dropped calls but I never saw any sign of it.
     
  4. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    nice,thanks...is there any other settings we can tweak in there?
     
  5. Telexen

    Telexen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    13
    Does Verizon have a problem with this?
     
  6. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not that I've heard of. In fact I haven't really found anything that needs or can be tweaked for performance. There are some bugs here and there but the ota updates will take of that in time. This is Google and they're in deep with this platform.
     
  7. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    thanks again....this did brick my phone
     
  8. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hope you mean did NOT brick your phone. :(

    I suppose if a 100,000 or so Droids all switched to a 13k vocoder it might make a difference and I'm sure they'd rather everyone not do this or they would have put it at 13k by default.
     
  9. Iceytea

    Iceytea Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, did you play with the settings and brick it?
     
  10. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    nope....bricked
     
  11. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    yep...didn't play,did exactly as the original poster stated,changed to 13k...now i can't make calls....hope vz will replace
     
  12. borisshnitkin

    borisshnitkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i set my to EVRC-B and everything seems fine.
     
  13. Iceytea

    Iceytea Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I did exactly as the OP said. Made a phone call before I changed the options, then made one right after the phone automatically rebooted.

    No problems.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I ain't gonna fool with it - I have no call issues thus far, and doing this is akin to setting the Firefox settings to allow massive bandwidth pipes with the excessively high 30 connections per server - which in the world of servers constitutes hammering. A lot of web server admins turned around and put in hard coded max number of connections allowed, and would temporarily ban your IP for hammering if you exceeded this - I don't want VZW doing the equivalent with its signal towers to me so I ain't playing with this setting.
     
  15. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mine worked fine. Is the phone totally dead or just the dialer affected? If the latter, I assume you tried changing the settings back? You can also revert to factory settings with > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset > Reset phone.

    If it won't start at all, did you try pulling the battery?
     
  16. Telexen

    Telexen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    13
    I can still make calls...make calls to both my Verizon and Google Voicemail...not sure about the sound quality yet because I haven't tried talking to an actual person yet.
     
  17. dontfeedthenerd

    dontfeedthenerd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I feel dumb asking this, but how do I go about entering ##program in the dialer?
    Anytime I try to input a letter it just adds the number and doesn't let me insert the character.


    Edit: NM, I am indeed dumb. nothing to see here.. move along. This is not the droid you're looking for.
     
  18. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    just the dialer.everything else seems fine. i would get activity dialer not responding,at that point i couldn't get back into settings to change it back...multiple batt pulls...waited for a while and i was finally able to get back into the settings,changed it back and getting the same thing.maybe after some more waiting it will fix itself again....highly recommend NOT DOING THIS!
     
  19. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    You use the dialer keypad. It's actually ##7764726. Be VERY careful about what you change and how you move around the menus if you're new to poking around in the programming menu of a smartphone. A bad swipe or touch could change a setting if you're not paying close attention. Write down the settings you see before you touch anything and keep track of what you do with each selection.
     
  20. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    If the OS is working you can go back to factory default settings with > Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset > Reset phone.
     
  21. koticphreak

    koticphreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    worked like a charm, noticable difference in call audio quality, thanks!
     
  22. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    33
    What is everyone changing it to? 13K or EVRC-B?
     
  23. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nothing wrong with my call quality at all. Will PASS on this suggestion.
     
  24. koticphreak

    koticphreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed mine to 13K

    I didn't have anything wrong with my call quality, didn't notice the diff till I switched, just sounds cleaner...
     
  25. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Interest in this surprises me...the Droid has the best call quality I can remember experiencing on a VZW phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...