anyone tried copilot on the desire


Last Updated:

  1. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    3
    just wanted to know if its worth the money , as google navigator wont work when 3g is down , copilot does aparently
     

    Advertisement
  2. jay_kay

    jay_kay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    96
    Co-Pilot stores all the maps on the SD card so it has no need for a connection.

    Not tired it myself as I have never had an issue with Google Navigation but have heard it works well.

    Its not cheap though so might be worth looking to see if there is an alternative or one that maybe one that will be released soon

    On my Nokia N96 I had McGuider by Sygic. They have an application called Mobile Maps 10 that has good reviews and is android compatible to maybe worth looking at that as loved it on my Nokia :D
     
  3. kebaros

    kebaros Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it and its not that bad really; there are plenty of vids on youtube showing it in action and the only complaint I have is that the speaker on the desire isn't that great so the spoken guidance isn't that great.

    Overall i'm happy with it.
     
  4. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    There's a review of Sat Nav Apps on The Register today - CoPilot is included.

    Just to be completely accurate you don't need a 3G connection for maps, just a phone-signal, it'll work perfectly well with a GPRS link. It can also cope with the signal dropping-out for periods of time as it caches the future route.
     
  5. zezlez

    zezlez Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I have been using copilot for a while and its great with no problems at all.

    I had been using a tomtom satnav and copilot is just as good and will re-calculate your route very quickly if you take a wrong turn.

    I had to go to Somerset back in July visiting three different destinations across the county and although i was concerned at first as i didnt feel confident it was up to the job it never let me down once, but that was just me being used to tomtom i suppose.

    Buy it you wont regret it !
     
  6. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    87
    jay_kay likes this.
  7. Android1

    Android1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use CoPilot and find it very good.
     
  8. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    I use copilot as well, never had a problem with it. Only thing is a couple of times its chosen a questionable route but still got me where I needed to be.
     
  9. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks chaps , i just bought it now .
    i was happy with google navigation , till my orange 3g went down then it dont work ,
    copilot seems to work fine without 3g , will test it out over the next few days .
     
  10. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    If Co-Pilot stores all the routes on the SD card (like my Garmin Edge bike computer) and therefore doesn't muller your data allowance, that can only be a good thing.

    One question that has often niggled at the back of my mind, though: how much data does Google Nav eat up? I'd like to use it more, but am a bit concerned that one trip to see long lost Auntie Flo on a Sunday afternoon will spank my data allowance for the rest of the month.
     
  11. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    70
    I use CoPilot. It's not perfect but its one of the better ones. There are some known issues (can't turn the volume up, it won't work with some 3rd party keyboards) and the support is rubbish.

    More Android SatNav reviews here;
    Android Sat Nav Apps
     
  12. turbohobbit

    turbohobbit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Apologies for the hijack, but I think this may be relevant to the overall... I'm a) concerned about my data useage and b) off driving abroad in the next few weeks, so I'm looking for an app that will download all the maps to my SD card thereby removing the need for data useage esp. abroad (I presume using my GSP doesn't count!), and will contain European maps. Any tips / recommendations? I don't mind spending a bit of dosh if it's worthwhile.
     
  13. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Turbohobbit, i will be purchasing copilot for when i go to the US mainly because of the Data charges.

    For the price, i dont think you can get better than copilot.
     
    turbohobbit likes this.
  14. srh

    srh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use co pilot v8. It worked flawlessly to begin with, but latel has taken to crashing after 30 to 40 minutes of use. I haven't added or removed anything from the phone. Contacted the support team via Email over a week ago. Still waiting for any sort of reply.

    Anyone had a similar problem, and if so, how did they fix it?

    Simon.
     
  15. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Check the Desire FAQ sticky with my GPS section here
     
    turbohobbit likes this.
  16. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    3
    well i tried it out on a few short runs today , and i have to say its very much like the tomtom i used to have , works perfectly , very large disply and clear voice , im very impressed for the money .
    i turned off wifi and 3G , just had gprs on, and it worked as smooth as a smooth thing . :)

    damn this is one cool phone :cool: :D
     
  17. Mavis Cruet

    Mavis Cruet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have co-pilot .. I use with a motor bike, so I can't see the screen, and have to rely on the voice in my earpiece. It has to be fairly loud, and I have an ongoing problem with the volume. It will not remember the settings I put it on, and frequently, I can hardly hear what it is saying.
    I've also tried it in my son's car and the volume is hard to hear, I had to plug in an external speaker (but that is as much Desires fault as co-pilots)

    Overall, I prefer Google maps, they give the street names as well, which I prefer.
    Copilots voice is better, but hopefully Google's will improve.
     
  18. Opium

    Opium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've tried CoPilot, it may be better than Ndrive imo, although the code needs alot more optimizing, and the UI is fugly.

    I switch between the two, haven't made my mind up yet. There's a 7 day trial for Ndrive
     
  19. sudkcoce

    sudkcoce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use motonav, a navigon/igo that works with desire resolution. I love it.
     
  20. aardys

    aardys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    3
    looks ok but, twice the price and no speed camera alerts:confused:
     
  21. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    70
    I thought the volume issue *may* have been resolved by the latest update (downloaded yesterday). Control seemed to stay at max and it seemed louder in the car today. However, sitting on the sofa now I can't get it off zero :confused:

    ETA; 'kin weird. Just set a route and I can now change the volume :confused::confused:

    ETA2; Its even weirder. I can only set the volume when I have a satellite fix regardless of whether I've set a route. :confused::confused::confused:

    Anyone else experiencing anything similar?
     

Share This Page

Loading...