Anyone tried Fring (or other VOIP) on UK networks?General


Last Updated:

  1. cdl

    cdl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Hi all,

    I understand a version of Fring is finally available for Android, and it should probably support skype out calls, too.

    Has anyone tried it with UK networks? I heard some operators - unsuprinsignly! - block the ports used by VOIP programs.

    So far I managed to use Fring on the 3 network just fine, to call both skype contacts and ordinary landlines through skype out.

    Has anyone else tried with other operators?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. yeti

    yeti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    i am using fring to make outgoing and receive calls to google-talk with no problems at all. im on tmobile in the UK
     
  3. cdl

    cdl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Great, thanks a lot!
     
  4. gezpage

    gezpage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried fring but skype calls seem unstable, it cuts in and out. Ive also tried Nimbuzz which is better but it seems to have a higher level of compression and sometimes when the person at the other end pauses the line goes dead quiet which is quite distracting.

    Really could do with a decent skype app, one thing I miss from my old iphone - although that was far from perfect, the call quality was good.

    Instead I just use the skypeout number to call abroad.

    ps. both were tested on a stable wifi connection.



    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
     
  5. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. beefyburt

    beefyburt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi. Ive used the new Skype app, works ok but with the expected bit of lag. Im on uk tmobile and my friend i rang was on uk orange.
     
    talvi likes this.
  7. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    So you were using Skype via the mobile network not through a WiFi connection???

    I've experienced a lag using JaJah - drove eithe me or the person I was calling CRAZY, made calls almost unbearable, and pushed me into Skype, which I've found perfect: no lag, fantastic voice quality.
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Used Skype over WiFi and HSDPA and no lag.
     
    talvi likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...