1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

anyone tried wiggle application?


Last Updated:

  1. mikemo76

    mikemo76 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone tried that wiggle application in the market yet? I just downloaded it and it seems very handy... i can definetly see myself using this at work or at school, i tend to get really bad gps signal whenever i'm indoors and this solves my problem.

    if you have it installed, what do you guys set the scanning frequency to? im having a hard time picking an interval, also do you guys enable WifiLock from settings page or leave it off?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    I can see a benefit in using wiggle, changing your phone profiles based on location but doesnt this provide a limited set of functionality that locale already provides or am I missing the point completely?
     
  3. dwattsy21

    dwattsy21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had this app and loved it. But now i need to reinstall it and i cant find it in the market at all! But i need it its the best battery saving app out there! Can you still see it in the market??
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Wiggle Lite and Wiggle Premium are both this in market

     
  5. dwattsy21

    dwattsy21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    When i search for wiggle in the market, all that comes up is beebs old macdonald(!!?!?!)

    Is there any other place to get it other than the android market? Like somewheere online to download it?

    Could the reason i might not be seeing it because i have rooted my phone with a modaco 2.8 ROM??:mad:
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Could be ... I checked it with a Rooted phone ... but my root is a CM ROM

    I think if it is in the MArket .. that the TOA says it can't be elsewhere ...?
     
  7. Dochavoc

    Dochavoc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's there, it's just case sensitive. Use a capital 'W' and you will find both.
     
  8. K-Rizzle

    K-Rizzle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    20
  9. superuser

    superuser New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried Locale. It sucks. Let me count the ways:

    1. It's location (radius) based and the smallest radius it allows is about the size of my neighborhood, not my house. That's useless.
    2. Because location is a nebulous thing on cell phones, more often then not it drops in and out of my default and work profile - it's always fun to get a loud ring in a meeting when I told Locale to be quiet at work
    3. When moving in and out of "locales", it takes 10-15 minutes for it to recognize and adjust. So my work profile (no bluetooth) stays on until I get home (no bluetooth) and my default profile (bluetooth) never turns on in my car. How useful!

    Wiggle on the other hand is faster to switch and WiFi (AP) based. I set it to my work AP and my home AP and when I get out of range of those it switches FAST.

    Unfortunately since I upgraded my phone, it's getting Force Closes constantly and simply not working anymore. I have tried contacting the author to see if they plan on any updates, but no word yet. If anyone knows of another wifi-based profile switcher, let me know.
     
  10. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I have problems with Locale working properly too, and I don't even use GPS location. I have everything set up based on time (simple, you'd think) and the profiles still don't change when they're supposed to. Today, two hours into my work shift, it switched to my work profile, after the phone had rung loudly once. Sometimes it will go through my entire work day without ever changing from default. My low battery profile never kicks in, regardless of how low the battery gets.

    I want to like this program, but it just doesn't work. Maybe I'll give Wiggle a shot if it's similar / works properly.
     
  11. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Apparently this is not availabel for 1.5? I searched in the market as well. I have a samsung moment if that matters.
     
  12. frazelle09

    frazelle09 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Uh, i'm using Toggle, from the Market, and use it with just Profile and Time and it seems to work just fine as far as changing on time. i really need to use it bec. i need to turn off all TelCel 3G, Edge, etc. before crossing the border into the U.S., otherwise the phone likes to connect to whatever network is available and it sucks all my TelCel minutes into the ether in 5 minutes flat. i get back to Mexico and have no phone minutes! i also set up the Profile with Airplane mode - WiFi On - so that when i get to work, it finds and connects to the work WiFi and i can make calls using Sipdroid and Gizmo5 (now a Google company - ???)

    Hope this helps and have a great evening! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...