Anyone with an N1, can you test something for me?


Last Updated:

  1. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not asking much, but can you find PDAnet in the market using your AT&T sim? Just wanting to confirm a thought.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,757
    Likes Received:
    23,397
    Nope, not there. Has JF submitted it to the market?
     
  3. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't know. But I was wondering if it was just the AT&T sim to blame, or the sim and the phone. You answered my question. It's the sim, and that's it. It's the sim itself which denies you the apps. You can still get around it, by taking it out and using wi-fi however.
     
  4. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    Actually someone on the aria boards said to try turning airplane mode on, and then wifi mode on and trying that way.
     
  5. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    I looked at the first 2 pages, and the only airplane mode thing was about sim contacts. But I don't think that'll work.
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    30,757
    Likes Received:
    23,397
    Is the app in the market on other networks?
     
  7. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    If you get a Nexus, it has Froyo with a Wifi hotspot for free wireless tethering.

    I can also confirm that pdanet and easytether are blocked from the market for me (though Acer included wired tether through a software on their website) and got wireless tether thanks to root.


    Sent from my Liquid using Tapatalk
     
  8. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    Just tried this out and can confirm that it works. Interesting, never thought of that before just assumed wifi would not work on airplane mode.


    Sent from my Liquid using Tapatalk
     
  9. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lunatic: It's there for others, yes. At least according to what I was told by someone on VZW.

    And the airplane mode thing is interesting. So it's not just the sim...hm.
     
  10. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    It is the sim. Airplane mode disables your network provider (exact words is "disables all wireless networks" but since wifi works, it isn't all networks lol).
     
  11. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, but what I mean is that if was just the sim, there would be information sent when the sim was in, even if it was over wi-fi, then some apps would be gone. So it's when it goes through the network...hm.
     

Share This Page

Loading...