Anyone with Google Voice probs on EVO?Support


Last Updated:

  1. QuesoGrande

    QuesoGrande Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    My wife and I each have an EVO. I've set up both of ours to use google voice for making calls and sms.
    Periodically... maybe every couple days or so, google voice will just stop working. She can't dial out (just gets some generic 'fail' message) and she can't send text messages either ('send failed').
    If she circumvents GV, then all is fine. The remedy? Reboot! WTF.. is this Windows or what??
    Anyway, before I head over to the GV forum where I'm unlikely to get a response for some time, I'm curious if any other evo owners are experiencing the same.

    FYI - I don't seem to have the problem on my evo. Then again, I reboot fairly often because I'm often tinkering/experimenting on mine. For all I know, maybe I'd have the same problem otherwise.
     

    Advertisement
  2. iceman7679

    iceman7679 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    I have also been having the same isse and have made comments on google's forums with no replys from google....others over there seem to be having problem with HTC evos in particular...I have contacted sprint, and as usual, their advanced tech support is clueless about it...I didn't think they would know more than I anyway, except google told sprint they were aware of issue and would fix it...but for now I guess we have to wait for froyo to be released...I am getting an iPhone 4 tomorrow as my secondary phone, so maybe that will hold me over while my android is unstable!
     
  3. noahas

    noahas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    On the GV forums, there were a lot of people complaining about problems with the service the last 2 days. It certainly may have something to do with the rush of new people that signed up since the opened the service up.

    I have had problems in receiving calls today. The incoming calls wouldn't ring my phone, but ring several times and then go to voicemail. This hasn't happened in the previous year I have been with Grandcentral/ GV.
     
  4. QuesoGrande

    QuesoGrande Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2

    I noticed that problem yesterday as well. That was a service problem. But I do believe the problem I described above is a device/software problem. Now today, a *new* one popped up on my phone. I set it to prompt me to use GV every time I dial. I did this to prevent me from performing so many accidental dials. Well today, it just stopped doing it for no apparent reason. Now, it just makes the call instantly without prompting for verification. I bet if I reboot the phone it'll fix it.... but I'm getting pretty damn tired of rebooting the phone to fix GV problems.

    Anyway, just frustrated.. but thanks for the response!
     
  5. travisr528

    travisr528 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    45
    After I installed it for some reason my phone would randomly reboot itself. Happen four times in my 1 1/2 class last night. Decided to hard reset it an go without GV for now.
     
  6. CrisG

    CrisG Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    No problems here yet. I have mine set to prompt before I make a call or send SMS, and it's working fine. I can also receive and place calls with no error. Will continue to monitor to see if any of the issues mentioned here pop up.
     
  7. Drugs Delaney

    Drugs Delaney Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had major delays receiving text messages with GV. On my Hero it was fine. But with the Evo I'm having the SMS problem.

    Also, I had one GV outgoing call fail.

    The text message delay is the one thing keeping me from making my google number my primary number. I won't make it my primary number until I see consistent performance from GV.
     
  8. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    No issues since launch for me using GV on the Evo
     
  9. chris44gw

    chris44gw Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Question. I too just loaded the google voice on my evo yesterday. When you say your 'primary' # do you mean just having people call your google # or is it something more involved? I ask because I don't seem to get everyone to show up in my placed, received, & missed boxes. I was wondering if I did something wrong, didn't have it set as my 'primary' #, or was expecting it to do something it shouldn't.
     
  10. Sauk

    Sauk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mine has been working great. Only thing I noticed is when I leave my house and go from WIFI to 3G, it will not make any call till It fully switches over to 3G (or wifi if I am coming home).
     
  11. bimmjo

    bimmjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    25
    No problems here and have been using for a week and a half?
     
  12. Drugs Delaney

    Drugs Delaney Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nah, by "primary number" I just meant the number which I'll give to people and tell all my friends to contact me on that number. Basically I'd just stop using my phone's phone number.

    I'm not sure why your having the problem you mentioned above but I hope you figure it out.
     
  13. QuesoGrande

    QuesoGrande Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    It sounds to me like maybe you're not set up to always use GV on outgoing calls and maybe not using GV to send SMS.
    It's a little confusing because when I get a text, it shows up in both GV and EVO's text msg area. So, it could be easy for someone to accidentally reply to the text using the default EVO client in which case it would not use GV and thus not show up in your GV history.

    Anyone know how to make it so that I don't get double notifications when I receive a text on my GV number?
     
  14. Drugs Delaney

    Drugs Delaney Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are the texts going to your phone's number or your Google number?
     
  15. QuesoGrande

    QuesoGrande Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have everyone using my GV number. Whenever I receive a text, it shows two notifications. One takes me to the text in GV and the other takes me to the text in a EVO/Sense program. It's like the text comes to the phone and two different clients grab the same thing and they both notify me. I always view it in GV, but then I have to manually clear my notifications to get rid of the other (duplicated) one.
    Know what I mean?
     
  16. maxipoo

    maxipoo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know exactly what you mean, QuesoGrande: I get double notifications everytime I get text messages and it irritates me. I use my real phone number (not the GV) also because GV doesn't support text/picture messages and also it is free calls to mobile #s. Anywho, I'm looking for an answer to that problem too.
     
  17. maxipoo

    maxipoo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...