anyway to downgrade radio or turn down power consumption?


Last Updated:

  1. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    seems like anything using 3g drains my battery. slacker player saps 30% of a 2600mah battery in a single hour. If I were to be conservative, it would be 25% of a 2200mah, accounting for other parts of the phone and possibly a low quality battery. Even then, that's horrible.

    It didn't used to be this bad. And now I suspect it's a combination of a new radio update that boosts signal by consuming more power, and the fact that 3g coverage is weak where I'm at (though it worked good enough before the update).

    So if there's any way to downgrade radio without losing froyo or other phone functionality, or directly influence power consumption of the 3g radio, please let me know.
     

    Advertisement
  2. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    if you have s-off you can flash any radio through the hboot menu
     
  3. pkmn760

    pkmn760 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    29
    with froyo stick with a 2.x radio (2.05, 2.07, or one of the 2.15 radios)
     
  4. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have s-off. anyone have a radio recommendation?

    changing radio won't make the camera stop working or have other adverse effects will it?
     
  5. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    just do official.. 2.15.78
     
  6. Two_cents

    Two_cents Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    27
    it will only effect the camera and such if you do a 1xx radio on froyo... if its a 2xx then youll be fine
     
  7. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have it and I am fairly confident it's causing battery drainage.
     
  8. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    I highly doubt that, if so though, try a diff 2.x radio... or. factory reset, and use the current radio, and see if the drain is still there. you can alwasy nand back to ur other rom with ur apps.
     
  9. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    how exactly are you so certain?

    its MUCH more likely that you need to do a factory reset, have a rogue app, or have something else screwed up...

    FYI just because a app worked fine on 2.1 doesn't mean the author properly coded it for 2.2

    many people are running the official update without issue.
     
  10. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    I use system panel, there's nothing rogue, I did a factory reset. Battery drains when using 3g very very fast and the rest of the time it's good.
     
  11. jdkoreclipse

    jdkoreclipse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    29
    i have heard that the 2.07 was doing good for some people....i have been having success with the 2.15.00.09.01
     
  12. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    I tested 2.05 tonight, and it drained half as much battery as it usually does during my hour of slacker radio. I'm very happy.
     
  13. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    That's interesting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...