Anyway to "restart" Evo - not shut down & turn on?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Does the EVO have a reboot/restart feature? Or is the only way to do this simply to shut the phone down, and then turn it on again?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Not stock, but there are apps that do it. You can just place the app on one of your screens and it will restart.
     
  3. mak916

    mak916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    291
    What is the name of the app?
     
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Seriously? Just go to the market and search for Reboot, at least 20 different apps will do this.
     
  5. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Quickboot
     
    sigmaxaa likes this.
  6. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Are there any free reboot apps that don't require root? I couldn't find any.
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Pretty sure they all require root. Go ahead and root what you waiting for?
     
  8. sintricate

    sintricate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Seriously. It's so easy even a caveman could do it... :p
     
  9. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Having never rooted before and new to Android, I'm a bit hesitant. Also, I don't know how easy it would be to get the phone back to stock should I have to return it or upgrade. There's a lot of info (too much for me really) to take it all in. If I did root, I'd just want a basic root keeping the Sprint stuff for WiFi tethering and a reboot app. And I'd need an easy way to go back to stock if needed. I know this isn't the thread for this, but I was asked! LOL
     
  10. cuellarm

    cuellarm Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, there is a way to reboot. Just press and hold at the same time the volume up & down rocker (both) and at the same time press and hold the power button. After a few seconds the phone will reboot. No root required, no extra app.
     
    Rambler358 likes this.
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    i got the impression he was looking for a way to do this without using the buttons... but I could be wrong :D
     
  12. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    No, actually I didn't know it could be done with the buttons until now. :)
     
  13. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    haha well there ya go!
     

Share This Page

Loading...