App auto-updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone get the Market auto-update function to work? It worked before the firmware update. Done a couple of factory resets.

    And yes, I know that the applications need to be updated because it says update in the Downloads section of the market and it's not an Update-Manual Only.
     

    Advertisement
  2. RJT185

    RJT185 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    51
    Do you have the "Allow Auto-Update" checkbox marked for each app?
     
  3. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes.
     
  4. RJT185

    RJT185 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    51
    I hate to keep asking questions, what about Background Data being enabled? Same with all the other CDMA connectivity options? Make sure you don't have the "Sync Only Over WiFi" selected.
     
  5. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems others have this same problem, and Google and Verizon refuse to address it.
     
  6. Old Man

    Old Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    37
    I believe that the Android Market Auto Update functionality is part of Android 2.2, so if it is not working that seems to be a Google and possibly Motorola issue, so what does Verizon have to do with it unless it is a Verizon app being addressed?
     
  7. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Verizon has something to do with how the market works. Why do you think there is a separate Verizon or Sprint tab on the market home page? Verizon could be blocking auto updates. Who knows since other users seems to have the same problem, but Google isn't addressing the issue in public.
     
  8. Lightnspirit

    Lightnspirit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    My apps auto update from the market, I do click the "auto update app" check box when I download something as well.
     
  9. defkorn

    defkorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    The market app checks what carrier you are on, then displays the appropriate tab. Verizon has nothing to do with auto-updating or any issues that may come up as a result.

    As someone else said, check your sync settings.
     
  10. RJT185

    RJT185 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    51
    @adkinsjm

    It is a brand new feature, so it's possibly a bug or just hasn't been enable on the market side of things. I wouldn't go as far as accusing VZW of withholding features. Give it a couple weeks and let's see what the new fixes are with the new software update.

    In the mean time, try an app like "App Brain" to help you monitor what apps have updates available.
     
  11. adkinsjm

    adkinsjm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apps started auto updating for me. Must have been a Market issue.
     
  12. hayesap8

    hayesap8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have exactly the same problem as the original poster, but this started happening after his was already ok. On my Droid 2/Froyo, apps used to autoupdate but do not any more. The autoupdate option is checked. I have tried reboots, going to the Market, Market/My Apps, checking and unchecking the Market option to notify of updates, checked my syncing, erased the Market data and tried again, and uninstalled Market updates (they came back after a reboot).

    One thing- while rechecking all my autoupdate check boxes after deleting Market data, the Market crashed. I'm about ready to enact the rest of the metaphor and jump out a window. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...