• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

App for volunteer firefighters

CALife

Lurker
Nov 24, 2011
Im a volunteer firefighter and one of the frequent issues my company and the company in the county run into is the lack of communication. Since we arnt at the station 24/7 and only go to the station when there is a call it is hard to track who is going to respond and when they are going to get to the station.
Idk how hard this will be or if its simple but I'm requesting an app to send a mass text to preselected contacts with the click of a button. There would need to be 5 buttons, available, available delayed response, Unavailable, Responding and Not Responding. I would also like to know if the app could be connected to maps somehow? IE: The address of the station is put into the app before hand and saved and when you send a message such as "Available" it would say "Available - 10min away from station" or "Responding - ETA: 10min". Also it would be nice if the responding button also kept track of how many times it was pressed and what date and time.

This would not be hard at all, except for the estimation of time. The app could certainly calculate the distance in miles from the station, but the time estimate not really. On the Navigation app from Google, they use their servers and data to calculate ETA.

Silvergc, if you decide not to look into this, let me know.

-frank

Upvote 0
kaediil,

Although I am looking into this, I would also welcome your participation. CALife is interested in getting a good solution for the firefighters, and so am I. I don't want to delay the deployment of a workable solution to keep it to myself since there are definite societal advantages to getting something like this out there. I could also learn from what you do.

CALife provided the following information to me: