App killers seem to force my SenseUI to restart?!?!General


Last Updated:

  1. complacent1

    complacent1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am rooted and rom'd and everything works great. But I have noticed that when using app killers sometimes (maybe 1 out of 10 times) When I kill all apps my SenseUI restarts. So Ive started looking at the apps that are being killed before killing them to see if I could find out what is causing this... but everything seems to be normal and I cant figure out why this is happening. Any help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. morganpants

    morganpants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    13
    which task killer are you using?
     
  3. complacent1

    complacent1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now, advanced task killer. I have also used taskill with the same results.
     
  4. Evestor

    Evestor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am rooted and use Taskpanel and have noticed the same thing and of course it goes away when uninstalling the task killer you are using.

    It almost has to be one of the apps that we have set to autokill. Currently I am leaving the more "system" looking apps alone and letting them run and only killing facebook, market, etc. and have had no sense UI restarts so maybe that is a place to start. Good Luck.
     
  5. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    im thinking its killing sense UI somehow and its rebooting. its happened to me a couple times. mostly after i have restarted my phone.
     
  6. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    You could just try going without a task killer for a while to see if it'll work decently without one...
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    yeah, kill the killer b
     
  8. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Most "decent ones" have an ignore list. Have you tried that?
     
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Oh! I bet you're killing a service that has a widget. If you kill a widget, Sense has to restart. (And then I'm sure it restarts the apps you just killed, too.)
     
  10. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
  11. hattrick

    hattrick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    29
  12. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    If you're rooted, look for that list of pre-installed programs like Visual Voicemail and Footprints, that you can delete. I have a feeling after deleting a few that you can delete without harming the system (that's why you need to find that list of apps you CAN remove) you may not need a task killer as constantly.

    I use ATK as well and the best thing that can happen is Sense rebooting, IMO. Because when that happens and everything is back to be functional, I have over 102 MB of space that goes down once I start opening apps again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...