1. In regards to recently combined carrier specific root forums, if your device forum was affected, please see this poll/thread!

App Possibility?????

1. questioneer

questioneer New Member

Hi all,
    There is no way i could build an app of my own. So am seeking Help/Advice.

I am a volunteer firefighter and as such i carry a CFS Pager.
    At the end of the day its something that can be misplaced or forgotten walking out the door.

My question is..... As there is a couple of websites that offer live or close to live streaming of the paging network, is there a possibility of creating a phone app that could stream this information while searching for keywords that relate specifically to the calls that i need. So it runs in the background with an alarm capability when said keywords are discovered.

Kind of like a internet version of the UHF pager that i carry. I understand that it woud be more then likely delayed but from monitoring the feeds its only seconds.

Any information anyone could offer would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Advertisement
  2. D-U-R-X

D-U-R-X turbo drinker Moderator

Hello and welcome, questioneer, thanks for joining Android Forums! :)

I have moved this to the app requests section, so that one of the Developers who use the site may be able to offer some help/advice :)
    questioneer likes this.
  3. questioneer

questioneer New Member

just for some info. This is one of the feed sites i am reffering too. SAGRN Paging Live
    thanks
  4. DaSeala

DaSeala Active Member

It could/should be possible, I can look into it for you :)

EDIT: It is totally possible. So what type of filter would you be looking for to be applied to this app? The web paging system seems to have some filters and a chime and whatnot, so what triggers are you looking for?

Further EDIT haha :p:

Basically what would you like this pager to do.
  5. questioneer

questioneer New Member