[APP] Root Tools - Early Alpha


Last Updated:

  1. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    Disclaimer: This application can wipe your device, and your SDCARD back to factory state. Use this app at your own risk, I will not be held responsible for damage or loss.

    Please uninstall between releases, until I have the market version up. Changes may occur in the preference storing system and signature I use.

    Download Here: Root Tools - beta 0.1.2 Jul 29 2010 - xda-developers

    COLOR="Red"]If the mount widget icon is not updating, please contact me. I have not been able to reproduce this bug.[/COLOR]

    [​IMG]


    This beta is good until August 29th.

    Before using, please read the license agreement.
    Please post bug reports in this thread, with your device name, and rom that you are using.

    Bug reports must included detail information on your device, what rom your using and what version of Superuser you phone has.

    Known Issues:
    May not wipe internal storage on devices such as the Droid Incredible (I need a tester!!!!!!!!!!)

    Potential Issues:
    ??

    Widgets: COLOR="Red"]If the mount widget icon is not updating, please contact me. I have not been able to reproduce this bug.[/COLOR]
    Mount Widget (Toggle RW/RO on /system, displays R/O when system is read only, and R/W when its writeable)
    Power Widget (Reboot Widget, See Power Menu)

    Tools (Remote Tools operate silently once enabled, via text messages (SMS))
    Remote Lock (Remotely locks your device, and turns if off. After being locked, the device will continue to shut itself down without a key file placed on the sdcard).
    Remote Nuke (Wipes all data off /sdcard, /data and /system. Requires flashing new rom to fix. AKA Soft Bricking)
    Remote Wipe (Wipes all data off /sdcard and preforms a factory reset).


    Mount Options: (Currently does not have option to remount to read only)
    Remount System as R/W
    Remount Data as R/W

    Current Features:
    Power Menu:
    Reboot
    Reboot Recovery
    Reboot Bootloader (May act as a regular reboot on non htc devices, please give feedback).
    Power Off
    Factory Reset (This will wipe your device, but not sdcard).


    System Tweaks:
    Clear Market History
    Dialer Codes (Force Checkin, System Information, Diagnostic Mode)
    Menu Unlock (Allows you to unlock your lockscreen by pressing the menu button, not needed for SenseUI LockScreen).

    Change log:

    * 0.1.2 Jul 31 2010
    * + System Mount Widget
    * + Minor Fixes all around
    * + New Icon (Thanks TopazAaron)
    * + Remote Nuke (Soft Bricking, DANGEROUS)
    * + Remote wipe fixes (Thanks t2noob)
    * + Factory Reset fix (Thanks t2noob)

    * 0.1.1 Jul 29 2010
    * + Samsung Galaxy Mount Support (Thanks rhcp)
    * + Fix for Remote lock failure due not committing shared preference. (Thanks t2noob)

    * 0.1.0 Jul 28 2010
    * Initial beta release

    I would like to thanks the following people:
    Isaac from Sirius Applications - For providing the solution to rebooting Senseui roms in (new & unreleased) Universal Market Fix. I incorporated this into Root Tools. I highly suggest you checkout some of his apps.

    cpod, jamezelle (<jamezelle> jeez i get no shout out lol) and everyone else at irc.andirc.net. With out you guys (and a gal or two) this would not of happened.

    Bug reports: t2noob, rhcp
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,654
    Likes Received:
    22,005
    jcase,

    Thank you very much...grabbing it now and trying it out. All you devs over at XDA rock! :D

    We all very much appreciate your contributions.
     
  3. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Your license agreement says "evaluation versions ... may be freely distributed".

    Who is Cyku Media ?
     
  4. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Doesn't appear to work for me. I press the "End" button to display the lockscreen. At that point, instead of having to 'slide' the unlock buttons, I should be able to hit the "Menu" soft-key ?
     
  5. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    27
    Could this app work with the newly rooted LG Ally?
     
  6. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    Cyku Media is a startup of mine. And yes "evaluation versions" of my software may be freely distributed, there are no evaluation versions currently.
     
  7. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    When reporting issues you must tell me what device, and what rom. Otherwise I can't look into it, at all. Is it Eris with WW? If it is, I believe his framework is partially foobar'd and thats the reason for the issue.
     
  8. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    Quite probably. Do you have one? Would let to get some data on it. I am sure we can make it work if it doesn't.
     
  9. mistaj33

    mistaj33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    32
    The enable/disable "LockScreen Menu Unlock" feature doesn't do anything for me unfortunately. With the feature enabled or disabled, I can still unlock the screen with the menu key. Eris running Ivan's Eris Official 1.0 w/OC.

    I am using the Vanilla lockscreen which might be my problem?
     
  10. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    It the feature it is using appears to be disabled in HTC's Framework, probably since their lockscreen does it by default.
     
    mistaj33 likes this.
  11. mistaj33

    mistaj33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    32
    Oh, bummer. Well, thanks for looking into it so quickly. Nice idea and execution on the app btw.
     
  12. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Running Aloysius v11 with the new non-wipe update flashed over it. No JIT, 3d patched flashed with egl.cfg pushed to maintain weather animations.

    All reboot options work correctly for me

    Mount options do not work. I get:
    Code (Text):
    1. Error: 02aa
    2. Could not locate system mtdblock, please contact us
    For both system and data options

    Menu unlock option does not work also. Vanilla lockscreen is bundled with my version of aloysius.
     
  13. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    fUbar. if your going to try and falsely proclaim my rom to be broken, do it with correct terminology.
     
  14. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    Thanks will look into the mounting issue, lockscreen is due to senseui's framework. No fixing it.
     
  15. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    KangMasterm

    Sorry no stolen/pirated applications here. You must of clicked on the wrong thread.

    "Your" (I use your lightly in this case) stuff is broken, now please leave my thread with your drama. Sorry no pirated applications here.

    jcase
     
  16. Romparoo

    Romparoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    74
    Good work.
     
  17. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
  18. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    noonehereyet,

    My only issue is the piracy of apps and intellectual property theft. I am probably going about it in the wrong way, but my reports to mods have seemingly been ignored (in the past). Such activity appears to be growing more common on android forums in recent months.

    Most developers are making very little as is, and at 99cent for most apps, anyone with a phone plan should be able to afford most apps. Developers are already faced with two major pirate app repositories (I wont link/mention here), and 100s of torrents offering almost any app. If such activity continues to grow at the rate it has, the android community will suffer from lack of well financed applications. Sure opensource can support most apps, really I prefer it. But even many O/S devs depend on income from some paid software.

    Lets keep Android Forums piracy free, and support our developers. $0.99 is not much.

    Take the Paid App Pledge! | AndroidGuys
     
  19. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    I am taking requests for features, widgets will be here sometime this month, so will the ability to change DNS servers.
     
  20. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,379
    Likes Received:
    16,473
    The Forum Rules make AF's position on piracy/warez crystal-clear, making the comment in post #1 both unfair and untrue. However none of us are developers and need plain-text advice on any issues. To most ordinary users one ROM looks much the same as another, and if nothing untoward is obvious we're unlikely to spot it.

    Legitimate concerns should always be reported, and ALL reported posts are investigated. However we need evidence of the Rules being broken, not just heresay or prior reputation. We would also encourage users to report such suspicions to the developer/vendor of the software in question, as it's they who have the law behind them.

    I hope this clarifies the position. Apologies for breaking into your thread.
     
  21. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    Slug I provided clear evidence, more than once. I really dont know how more clear to report things. I stand by my comment, at least until AF cleans up it's act and starts protecting developers. Its fair to not expect AF to do anything when its not brought to mods attention, but it has been. If mods do not understand the issue, then bring someone onto you team that does.


    **UPDATE
    Mods have contacted me regarding issues, and are solving it. I will remove that above comment and readd my apps later.
     
  22. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    updated, with new features.
     
  23. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Remote wipe works nicely.

    Remote lock turns off my phone, but when i turn it back on, it does not shut itself off again. I know its a long shot of someone else figuring out how to activate the key to turn off the lock feature if its fully working for me, but I notice that at this point, when I turn the phone back on and it doesnt shut down like its supposed to, I have a new txt that gives the password that you use in the txt file key.

    Also tried this on google voice. That did not work but I kinda didnt expect it to since its not a traditional sms service. It would be nice to find a way to get this to work because I know some people only use this service for txting since its free. Not sure if its possible tho.

    Running Aloysius v11 maps on eris with newest non-wipe graphic update.
     
  24. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261

    Version 0.1.1 is out and fixes the lock issue, I forgot to remove some debugging code. Whoops.

    0.1.2 will be coming out with support for device nuke (soft bricking, ie you have to flash new rom from recovery) and apps2sd, which is apparently causing some wipe issues.
     
  25. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ok remote lock works like its supposed to now. Shut down until I placed the key on the sdcard.

    Would you also be able to do a nand backup to get past the lock?
     

Share This Page

Loading...