1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

App/widget to manually lock phone?


Last Updated:

  1. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    Is there an app/widget out there that will allow my to instantly manually lock my phone? I know I can change the security settings in Froyo to where it locks when the display is off, meaning I could use the power button on my Droid X, but I don't want it to lock every time the screen dims. In other words I want:

    a) phone locks on a timed basis (say, 10, 15, 20 minutes of inactivity)
    b) phone locks when I tell it to via app/widget

    I tried searching for such an app/widget but most of what I found was just enhancements for the lock screen or replacements that didn't address this problem.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Brinkley1988

    Brinkley1988 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think, to implement the a) and b) functions, we don't need any app.

    a) You could set an time out in the control panel to control the lock time. When it's locked, the screen will be shutted down to save battery.

    b) You could press the power key to lock whenever you like.
     
  3. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    Doesn't work that way. If you set a time (5, 10, 20) whatever, then pressing the power key dims the screen but doesn't lock the phone. If you set it to "when display is off" then it locks every time the display dims (whether automatically or by pressing the power button), which I don't want either.
     
  4. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Not something I use, since I prefer it to lock as soon as the screen turns off. What about this?

    Lock Screen Widget - Android app on AppBrain

    Anyone tried it?
     
  5. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19

    Yes, tried it - all it did was blank my screen, same as pressing the power key. Turning the screen back on, no lock screen present. Don't know if this is a Froyo issue or what. the comments on the app seemed to indicate mixed results so ymmv.
     
  6. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Bummer. Okay, thought I'd throw it out there. Let us know if you find something.
     
  7. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks anyway. The search continues! :)
     
  8. scottb

    scottb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try Lock Enabler, it works well for me.
     
  9. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    Tried it, it just blanks the screen. Pressing Power or home brings up the display without the lockscreen activated. I'm wondering if this is a Froyo issue and some of these apps need updating...:confused:
     
  10. zip2

    zip2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    There has to be some coding somewhere in the OS that prevents the devs from developing more useful lock screens.

    I'm certainly no software dev but from the forums I've been on it seems a lot of requests can't be filled.
     
  11. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    You may be right - it seems like a simple thing - just override the timer setting or trigger the same action that the timer triggers to cause the lock screen to kick in, yet no one seems to have a working solution. :confused:
     
  12. Brivs Mekis

    Brivs Mekis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can use Widget Locker to do this.

    there is a "widget locker lock now" shortcut that you can put on your homescreen.

    so my android (2.2) screen timeout is set to 2 minutes but my widget locker custom timeout is 10 seconds.

    so when i press the lock now shortcut my lockscreen appears for 10 seconds and then the screen goes off. if i then press the power button i can unlock and get prompted for my android pin number.

    if i leave the phone for 2 minutes with the screen on then it locks and turns the screen off. then i have to put in the pin code to unlock.

    sounds like what you want i think.
     
  13. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had read that with Froyo you would get the Widget locker lock screen, then the Froyo lock screen, then the PIN screen. has this been fixed so that the Froyo lock screen doesn't come up?

    For my scenario, I want the screen to blank after 2 minutes, but not lock unless either a) 20 minutes have passed or b) I press a "lock" button. Does this sound like something Widget Locker can handle? Your scenario sounds very similar.

    I suppose I should just break down and give WL a try! :D
     
  14. Viper20220k

    Viper20220k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been looking for the same app / widget. Were you ever able to find anything that works like that?
     
  15. lifeonmtv

    lifeonmtv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    49
    I do it with tasker and the willim stoker password lock plugin.
     
  16. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19

    Hmm, that looks like a definite possibility! I'm going to wait until the recently-announced Droid X update is released to see how that changes things, then try this out if the update doesn't introduce new lock options.

    BTW, for those looking for the plugin that lifeonmtv referred to, it's available on appbrain at

    Locale Password Lock Plug-in - Android app on AppBrain

    Although it's labeled as a Locale plugin, apparently it also works with Tasker.
     
  17. jbgantes

    jbgantes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is ridiculous. Windows Mobile phones and Blackberries come with this functionality out of the box. It's a big enough turn off that I may ditch my D Pro and go back to BB. Security seems to be lacking big time on these devices in general.
     
  18. lifeonmtv

    lifeonmtv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yep, at least not out of the box... so if you're not happy having to work around it then blackberry is a better choice for you for sure.
     
  19. lifeonmtv

    lifeonmtv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    49
    i can confirm it definitely works with tasker :)
     
  20. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84

Share This Page

Loading...