1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Appbrain Questions?


Last Updated:

  1. texasez

    texasez Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I recently had to hard reset my phone and I assumed my app list would be on appbrain and i could just reinstall all my apps. Wrong. All my apps disappeared from the list and I had to find, add to my list and then reinstall. Did I do something wrong or do the apps disappear when they are removed from the phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    The apps on AppBrain show what apps are currently installed on your phone. If you reset your phone, the apps are obviously deleted from your phone, so will no longer show up on your phone or on AppBrain.

    You could use an app to backup your apps to the SD card. :)
     
  3. musikat

    musikat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had the same thing happen. I think you can save them to a different file on Appbrain, though, then transfer them over.
     
  4. aldo

    aldo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    62
    Yeah, when I found that out appbrain became basically useless. Luckily Titanium backup saves all the apps and reinstalls them when you wipe.
     
  5. jreinsch

    jreinsch New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just had to hard reset myself, but before doing the reset, I went to appbrain.com on my PC and created a list called "hard reset list", moved all of the apps from the "Apps on the phone" list to the new list, did the hard reset with the handset, then back on the PC I moved all of the apps from the "hard reset list" back to the "Apps on the phone" list, and then opened the AppBrain app on the phone and did a sync with AppBrain. All my apps got restored perfectly.
     
    vinnie01, Szadzik and pwnst*r like this.
  6. Chief7

    Chief7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    17
    Good one!! The other option is just open your Market - all of the apps you have downloaded from the Market (which is where the apps on Appbrain come from!) will be there. That's what I did but I'll try this idea before I do another hard reset! Thanks!
     
  7. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    That worked awesome, excellent tip/trick. Should be added to FAQ.
     
  8. ncguy2

    ncguy2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Don't depend on this method to backup your apps. It works if its on the same phone but if you get sent a new identical phone, say as a replacement, all of your apps are gone from the market. Ask me how I know :eek:

    Although I haven't tested it, it seems like the method jreinsch mentioned using appbrain may work on a new phone since its probably just based on the account and not also the phone. Be interested to know if anyone has tried this method to a different phone.
     
  9. Jaybeaux

    Jaybeaux New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi have Astro Pro installed on my EVO. It is a file manager, and I use it to back up all of my downloaded apps to my SD card. My question is this: Is there a need or is there a benefit to installing AppBrain in addition to Astro for app management? I'm just trying to understand what AppBrain does for me.

    Thanks.
     
  10. djkleric

    djkleric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yup, replaced my evo. did something very similar. If you are rooted and try a different rom samething will happen. AppBrain is an excellent tool.
     
  11. jreinsch

    jreinsch New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Appbrain keeps your app management "in the cloud" so that if your phone is lost, stolen, or damaged, or your SD card fails, your Appbrain account can easily get your panoply of apps onto a replacement phone without having to maintain a local listing of your apps.

    You can also create additional lists besides your "Apps on the phone" list. For example, I have a list called "Apps I might like to try at some point" where I put references to apps I stumble upon that look interesting but for one reason or another (usually lack of space on the SD card) I don't wish to install now but want an easy way to keep track of them. I also have a list called "Apps I have uninstalled but might want to install again some time".
     
  12. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yeah me too, I have additional lists, Apps, Games so when I see something I would like at a later date I can look them up.

    I found if you did NOT Syn your phone with AppBrain after a reset then your Apps are still in 'My Apps' list
     

Share This Page

Loading...