Apple headphones on Galaxy, problems with sound.Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Apox

    Apox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, I've been reading these forums for a while now, and some of these posts are the reason I got a Galaxy myself, imported from Germany :)

    So far I totally love it, but there's this small issue that made me register and finally make a post here.

    My previous phone was an Apple iPhone, but I dropped it so the screen broke, and I didn't bother with trying to fix it, so I decided to try something new.
    Now, what I loved about the iPhone was the headset/handsfree that came with it. It's the best I've tried so far, and that's why I really wanna use it instead of the crap one Samsung bundled with the Galaxy.

    Now here's the problem:
    When I use the Apple headset with my Galaxy, the vocals on music doesn't play, unless I press and hold the answer/hang up/shuffle button on the handsfree. And because of this, it does ofcourse not work as a answer/hang up button. The bundled handsfree works as it should, with normal sound, and buttons.

    I have no idea if this is a hardware 3.5mm issue, or a software issue, but all I know is the Apple headset works fine on my brother's HTC Hero, which makes me believe it's less likely to be a software issue.

    I'm also reluctant of buying another handsfree, incase the Galaxy only works with the bundled one.

    Any input is welcome, thanks :)

    Oh, almost forgot, if it's of any use, I'm running the II5 firmware, updated through NPS.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Russ Dill

    Russ Dill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    The extension to the standard 3.5mm jack to add microphone and an answer/hangup button is non standard. I would imagine if differs across manufacturers. This is probably further complicated by the other apple supported bastardization of 3.5mm jacks, the addition of composite video.
     
  3. Bomberman

    Bomberman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    10
    Apple hardware by design tends not to play well with others. Get some decent head phones (UE) and enjoy a halfway decent DAC that you will have not enjoyed with the iPhone :) (I get from your post that you're listening to tunes - if a wired headset is what you're after, sorry :))
     
  4. ressu

    ressu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's not that much of an Apple problem than it is an Samsung problem. If you hook your iPod headphones to a laptop (for example) they work perfectly. If you do the same with the Samsung provided ones, you get mono sound. And of course, pushing the answer button will get you stereo sound.

    So in my eyes, this is a design flaw with Samsung. I love the headphones that came with Galaxy, but sadly I can only use them with the Galaxy =(

    Also as a side note, i apparently can't use my Sennheiser headphones with the Galaxy either. Looks like the plug hole is too deep.
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its the remote layout. standard headphones still work in the samsung jack.
    iphone headphones are crap anyways, like seriously they are pants
    get some
     
  6. ppanagopo

    ppanagopo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if it fits here but I had strange behavior from my phone last week.
    my device speaker and mic stopped working and in making and receiving calls.
    I tried headset and all was ok , also bluetooth worked.
    This freaked me though and I flashed many roms with odin, now I'm at i5 and found a workarround :
    H/W sound test : at dialpad press
    *#*#0289#*#* or
    *#*#0673#*#*
    this brings up the menu to activate internal external speaker and hedphones in turns ..
    after this I could make receive calls WITH sound normally again...
    now I dont need doing it but I'm not sure what caused it or how it got fixed.
    .....
    :confused:
     
  7. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
  9. Apox

    Apox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

    What I want is a headset with microphone and change track capabilities, and a better one than the Samsung one. I hate digging in my pocket to change track or to pull up my phone to answer since I'm driving around alot.

    What the hell is Samsung up to? The Apple headset worked fine on the HTC Hero, even changed tracks etc.
     
  10. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've had a brief play with this.

    I've found that the 3.5mm jack on the Galaxy seems to be 3.5-and-a-bit-mm, so my regular (third party) headphones slop around rather than making a good connection. It works, if you lean on the connector to make a firmer connection.

    I've got a line-in jack in the car for audio, and this would have been a showstopper for me if the same problem persisted there too. However, the 3.5mm jack cable seems to mate quite solidly with the Samsung (which is ironic cos the same cable is loose as hell at the car end). Which leads me to think that maybe there's some degree of tolerance involved when making these connectors, and some headphone / cable combinations are better than others perhaps.

    On the upside, the stock headphones provided seem pretty decent (that is, relatively; they're not a
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    different controll methods, if you were wanting to use apples controls with it then thats a definite no no.

    ive got used to the 1click for pause. 2 clicks with half a second in between to skip tracks.

    problem i find is sometimes you can make a call and then afterwards the controller for the music has a delay and will not work properly again till you reboot the phone
     
  12. bitxboi

    bitxboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use to listen to the music on my Galaxy with iPod headphones...no problems
     
  13. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Do you mean, cut it right next to the small dongle with the button on it, on the 'head' side (away from the 'plug' side)?
    If so, be aware that the microphone is not in that dongle, but in the "strengthener block" where the headphone cable splits into L/R channels! You will lose your mic if you cut it there, but I don't see how you could cut it and keep the mic...

    Mine sure don't. Either you have applied lateral pressure at some point, or you haven't shoved it all the way in to where there's a click sensation.

    Also, let me mention that I've used iPod headphones various places with no problems, and Sennheiser 'phones on my Galaxy with no problems either.
     
  14. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    With the greatest of respect, I know how to plug in headphones. (-:

    To be fair, my headphones date from the early Cretaceous period. It's entirely possible that the fault lies with them at least in part.
     
  15. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    yeah sorry, I just said that because the first few times, that's the mistake I made. :rolleyes:
     
  16. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    The ipod headphones without the Mic and click button probably work. But iphone headphones dont. I think its probably a simple matter of cutting the iphone headphone cable at some point and soldering the wires in a different combination - thus changing the pinout at the jack end.

    I think the samsung headphones look a bit cheap tbh, and I dont like the total in ear type. When i'm out walking around I prefer to be able to hear whats going on around me by putting the volume at medium.

    I havnt used my phone for music much (yet) because I also have an ipod, but at some point i think i'll try to butcher together some good quality buds onto a plain simple iphone headphone cable.
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    music on the phone is ok but atm iphone/ipod will surpass it as android does not have an equaliser which kinda annoys me, i need more bass (dubstep/drumnbass fan)
     
  18. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I havnt used it because of the battery. Plus with the original firmware it wouldnt switch tracks with the button, just pause/play. Can you skip tracks now? Or maybe I was just being dense and didnt press the right thing :p
     
  19. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    doublepress to switch tracks on H7.
     
  20. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I tried that, but it was on G8 back then. Maybe i should start using it then
     
  21. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it worked on h6, h7, h8 and i5
    only issue i found on all revisions was what i mentioned where after a few calls the delay on the play after button press its too large for it to recognise the doube press response so play and pause will be the only function that works till you reboot the device

    its a bad implementation for a remote, they should have stopped trying to be different at this point and made an actually functional remote
     
  22. Apox

    Apox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So to sum up; This is a hardware issue, and can't be changed?
     
  23. Apox

    Apox Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you guys know of any other handsfree that can be used as a remote and that works with the Galaxy? I hate digging up my phone to pause and switch tracks etc.

    If it's unsolveable, I'll sell the phone and go for a SE Rachael.
     
  24. Russ Dill

    Russ Dill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    My Sony DR-BT50 headphones do all that. They don't make a very good handsfree device because of the placement of the microphone though. Certainly other devices exist.
     
  25. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16

Share This Page

Loading...