Apps I have verified that support Apps2SD


Last Updated:

  1. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Apps that I have that can be moved to the SDCard (apps that natively support Apps2SD):



    Any others that you know about, paste here and I will get them into the list.
     

    Advertisement
  2. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Dude, if you use titanium backup, you can force alot more apps to SD using titanium.

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    lol read the list again.

    Also, ConnectBot FCs when moved to the SDCard.
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Another thing - I saw where someone else just restarted LauncherPro and the apps that were moved showed up - but I have both restarted LauncherPro twice and rebooted the phone and yet I cannot get the apps I moved to show up in the app drawer.
     
  5. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Go into your settings, go to manage applications and force launcherpro to end. That worked for me.

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     
    YankeeDudeL and johnlgalt like this.
  6. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    ok, reboot makes it screwed up. Will re-edit later.
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Anyone else know of any other apps that support this natively (not being forced by TiBu - native support only)?
     
  8. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Force stopping LauncherPro worked for me (thanks to G.Armour), however, SetCPU no longer shows in my widget list. Any ideas? Other than switching SetCPU back to phone? Also, has anyone who forced apps2sd w/ TiBu had the same issues w/ the corresponding widgets?
     
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yep, but its a problem with all Widgets, so if it has a widget, don't force it to ur SD.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    TBH, SetCPU, as it runs all the time, probably should be left in the phone memory to begin with....
     
  11. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    516
    Yeah, that's probably something that'll need to be addressed at some point.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    It's a problem noted by Google themselves - they recommend not moving apps that have widgets to the SDCard.
     
  13. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    How do you: a)determine native support, and b) activate the option?
    I have TiBU and can't seem to find anything in the settings...
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    ok here is the deal.

    for native support go to Settings --> Applications --> Manage applications

    Select each app, and if it supports Apps2SD then you'll see a button that says Move to SDCard enabled. If it does not, you'll see that button but it will be disabled.

    With TiBu, you can move most apps (not all, though) to the SDCard - you load TiBu, then press on the Backup/Restore panel, and then long press each app.

    BE VERY CAREFUL DOING THIS - I moved a lot of apps to the SDCard that did not support it natively, and when I went to reboot I got stuck in a boot loop. This was on Fab's NexFro 1.0.1 (FRF57 base).
     
  15. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    Cool, thanks. I checked all my apps. Got nothing to add.
     
  16. hexon

    hexon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    8
    Pandora moved over to SD for me. It has a widget though, so I don't know if I'd move it and try to use the widget.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  17. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    25
    From Android developer guide:

    ________
    Note that requesting installation onto the device's external media is not suitable for all applications, particularly because the external media may be removable and unmounting/remounting may disrupt the user experience and system settings.
    .....

    Warning: When the user enables USB mass storage to share files with a computer or unmounts the SD card via the system settings, the external storage is unmounted from the device and all applications running on the external storage are immediately killed.
    .....

    Apps that SHOULD NOT install to sdcard

    ________


    This explains strange behavior (crashes, boot loops, etc.) from apps that get "forced" to sdcard. If you want to experiment with this be sure you have full backups. There are a lot of apps that should never go to the sdcard. Hopefully this info will save some trouble;)
     
  18. dbldwn02

    dbldwn02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think I'm just gonna go through and clean out a lot of old apps. I didn't think Apps2SD would cause so many problems. Good idea though, just not for all apps.
     
  19. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I can add the following to the list:

    ConvertPad - Unit Converter
    Flikie Wallpapers HD
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  20. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    I just found this little tidbit over at Alldroid -- I tried it and it works. It basically allows you to use the "Move to SD" button for all of your apps from Setting>Applications>Manage Applications:

     
    johnlgalt and stewart1champ like this.
  21. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Just tried it and it and it keeps saying failed to move to SD card. Although it does give me the option, it don't work.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  22. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    Hmmm, weird -- it worked perfectly for me.
     
  23. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    That might be a ROM thing. What one are you running right now?
     
  24. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    515
    NexBeast v0.1
     
  25. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    I'd test it, but I am on a different version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...